Which would you recommend - SIM800L/900 & Neo-6M combo or A9G combined chipset

Go To Last Post
5 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I have a project I am starting out on using Arduinos and I need GSM/GPS facilities on the prototype. I have no experience with GPS/GSM functionality, and I am looking at buying the so-called 'sensor' boards I need to start prototyping this. I have found two different routes I can follow (locally available boards) -

• Use a SIM800L/900 board for cell network access and a separate Neo-6M GPS board
  • Use a combination board using the A9G chipset which offers all the functionality in one solution

Which route would you guys recommend from feature, functionality and development complexity perspectives? My biggest concern is these devices will be used in an out of town farming environment, so while there is definitely cell network availability it is not as good as it would be in the middle of say a town residential area. Access reliability is therefore a consideration.

Also, not having any experience with this sort of functionality, from a GPS perspective I do not know whether I should be worrying about access to more than the most widely used (in South Africa) US GPS system, such as including the Glosnass system. This will impact on which GPS board(s) I can use.

Thanks for any comments.

Wayne

East London
South Africa

• No, I am not an Electronics Engineer, just a 54 year old hobbyist/enthusiast
  • Yes, I am using Proteus to learn more about circuit design and electronics
  • No, I do not own a licensed copy of Proteus, I am evaluating it legitimately
  • No, I do not believe in software or intellectual property piracy or theft

I helped a friend with a GPS project he had using the Locosys LS23036, there is an Arduino project that I used and then distilled the list file to get enough info so that a 68HC12 assembler project could be made fo him.

John Samperi

Ampertronics Pty. Ltd.

https://www.ampertronics.com.au