What does the 'P' mean in Atmega328p?

Go To Last Post
19 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Title says it all, I'm a noob. But I started working with my first Atmel microcontroller, the Atmega328(at least that's what Atmel studio is telling me that's what it is), and I have been analyzing it's datasheet, I might of misinformed myself that the 'p' in ATmeaga328p meant "DIP package.".

I purchased ATmega328's in a DIP package, and started my first programs using atmel-ice and atmel studio 7 tool chain with c. When attempting to verify the signature of a ATmega328p chip I thought I had installed, it gave me errors, and suggested my chip might be an ATmega328.

I was concerned that this would cause problems with coding the chip, but everything worked fine when I changed the target device to ATmega328.

So this brings me to my question: What does the 'p' in ATmega328p mean/indicate? What sets ATmega328p apart from ATmega328? Whats the difference?

This is where you get both data sheets and two monitors and compare them side by side in order to know all the differences.  As far as I know, the P in the mega328 refers to "pico-power", meaning that the IC, in certain circumstances, operate and/or retain its state at very low levels of power.  These are the kind of details that you only need to bother with if you're making 100,000 units of individual product design.