What are my options for low level debug on the AVR (ATmega128) ?

Go To Last Post
56 posts / 0 new

Pages

Author
Total votes: 0

First posting. I hope this is the correct subsection!

Quick summary. I am helping a friend port working code from an Arduino based Teensy(3.5) to real hardware which is ATmega128 based. The code (so far) runs fine on the Teensy but crashes and reboots on the real hardware.

I have bought an ATmega128 dev board. It has two 10 pin connectors: one for SPI programming; and the other is labelled JTAG. All pins are brought out to headers. It was really good value for around £10 off Ebay. I am programming directly using the usbTiny programmer, and I am not using a boot loader.

I have lots of experience with microprocessors and microcontrollers of various types, however much less when it comes to the AVR family. I am comfortable with assembly code, low level monitor debuggers, logic analysers, etc.

We are using the MegaCore Arduino plug-in (from GitHub) for the Arduino GUI, which supports a number of non standard AVR cores such as the ATmega128. It is gcc based.

We have narrowed down the crash to the first call to lcd.print("message") in code run as part of setup. Could be a memory leak or stack corruption, I have no idea. The serial port sign on message keeps being printed, suggesting a crash and reboot.

The Teensy breadboard setup uses a I2C based colour OLED. The OLED uses the Adafruit library which itself uses hardware I2C. It appears to work OK.

Try#1.