What are folks using for alternatives to stk600 and stk500 nowadays?

Go To Last Post
7 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Apologies if it is an annoying question, but I didn't see it in the FAQ. I have been doing AVR since they came out, many years ago, but posting here only rarely. However, it's becoming evident that I should consider newer programming tools than stk600/stk500. After innocently killing my stk600 in the same way a gentleperson here did 10 years ago but apparently never got resolved (tho I'd love it if anyone knew how to resurrect my stk600 from Solid Orange LED Death, I said most of what I wanted to ask in a recent topic that I doubt will get a lot of hits or views, in which I said at the end:

I am very sad. I am also at a loss to know what to use to program AT90USB1287, now that my stk600 is dead. Maybe I could take advantage of the physical routing by jumpering ISP header over to stk600 from my old STK500. I do not know what people are using nowadays, especially hopefully something that solves the routing like stk600 does. Though, I can burn an AT90USB1287 to a breadboard-friendly setting and wire-wrap, then ISP from STK500. More painful than a working stk600 by a long way. Do people use dragon? atmel ice? something else? Anything that solves routing?