Transition from 8051 to AVR

Go To Last Post
7 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi, as I already wrote in my previous post, I am new to AVR. Why I choosed AVR? Becouse it can be very simply programmed home, and it´s very popular from what I read. BUT, I was used from school to 8051 CPU. To be more precise, AT89C51 I think it the correct name.

I was really excited to work with AVR assembly language, but it is like a nightmare to me. If you know 8051, I know you do, you only need MOV instruction 90% of the time. It doesent matter wheather you MOV to special register or SRAM, or even IO port.

Please, don´t take me bad, I mean, I like AVR MCU, and please dont write use C, becouse I like working with ASM.

But I must ask, I need to know, is there any good reason, why there are different instruction names for operations with registers, and operations with IO ports and so on, so different from 8051?

And if I can have one more newbie question, why you must first specify wheather you write or read to a port and than read or write? 8051 has no such thing, and it works the same. If I want to read whatever is on the port, I just mov it to the memory or SFR, just like writing to it.

Please, help me clear things a bit, becouse right now, I am really confused...

The IN/OUT instructions are special because they only have room for one byte of "address". Special addresses have been made for most of the peripheral (I/O) registers to work with these instructions.

Because of the smaller instruction size, the instruction can run faster (take fewer clock cycles) and the standard STS or LDS. These instructions take TWO words of flash, and take TWO cycles to execute. You CAN use them with peripheral (I/O) registers, but they are slower and take more flash space.