STK500 8515 UART USART frustrations

Go To Last Post
14 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Ok..., for *three* days I've been trying to get Vista, WinAVR, AVR Studio, and an STK500 to cooperate. I'm a total noob, but about to throw in the towel. Assembly via Studio works fine. Trying to get a dumb serial routine to work via Winavr is going nowhere.Code is attached. Compiles with no errors, runs in Debug simulator fine..., I can watch PORTD bit 1 (UART Tx) changing at the proper rate. Sending a non-stop string of 'U's toggles the output nicely. BUT.., when downloaded to the STK500/8515...,no output. The PORTD outs are OK.., as I can download a blinky program that works fine, the Max 232 circuit is fine and jumpered to PD0/PD1...., there's just nothing being produced by the chip. What am I missing?

TIA,
John

Attachment(s): 

What has got me a few times is that the file to download has to be selected by you,it is not done automatically when you change projects. Just one of those things that can bite you.

Pete

Your code:

#define BIT(n) (1 << (n))

void setup_uart(void)
{
	UBRR = 23;
	UCSRB |= BIT(TXEN);
	return;
}

void send_character (unsigned char c)
{
	while ( (UCSRA & BIT (UDRE) ) == 0 ); // Something looks amiss here.  Check my code below.
	UDR = c;
	while ( (UCSRA & BIT (TXC) ) == 0); // This isn't needed, as you check UDRE this upon entry - which is the correct place to check.
}

int main(void)
{
	setup_uart();
	while (1){
	 send_character('U');
	}	 
}

My code:

// ImageCraft ICC-AVR C compiler V7.xx
// Target micro-controller: Mega32
// Crystal: 16.0000Mhz

#include 
#include 

// UART0 initialize
// Desired baud rate = 9600
// Actual baud rate = 9615
// % Error = 100 - ((9600 / 9615) * 100) =  0.156%
// No Parity, 8 bits, 1 Stop bit: (N-8-1)
void uart0_init(void) {
     UCSRB = NULL; // Disable while setting baud rate
     UCSRA = NULL;
     UCSRC = (1<<URSEL) | (1<<UCSZ1) | (1<<UCSZ0); // Select 8 bit data