SPI resistors AVR042

Go To Last Post
6 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello, I am new to the AVR series micros. A novices learning and using BASCOM - AVR. I read the discussion on this site concerning SPI resistors (Google search). Atmels AVR042 bulletin recommends using resistors between the slave device and an ISP programmer on the same hardware SPI bus lines used by AVR to connect to the slave. In some applications they have recommended values as high as 10K. I was wondering what kind of currents do these data lines see? Does anyone know the real skinny on the effect resistors would have on the SPI bus? I know why Atmel recommends them, I don't understand how reistors in the MOSI/MISO lines could inhibit SPI tranfers???Thanks

Just some guy

Hi

As long as the AVRISP is not connected or is inactive, the SPI communication between Master (your AVR) and slave will not be affected by the resistors in serie since the current flow is very small. However, when programming the device, AVRISP will first alter the reset line, and second it will begin communication towards your avr mcu, where the mcu now becomes slave, and the AVRISP is master.

If there where other SPI slaves connected to the SPI bus lines several things could happen. one, is that they could start to respond to the message given which was addressed to the avr mcu, and without resistors connected in series as required by AVR042 this could lead to shortcuts (when two spi devices tries to drive the same line in different "directions") or at best, comunication disturbance/interruption which leads to programming failure of your mcu. If adding an resistor in serie the other spi slave must overcom an 10k barrier which by ohms law will reduce its influence in communication btw. AVRISP and AVR mcu towards nothing.