[SOLVED] ATtiny402 TCB0 - aiming for "single shot" on WO but can't get anything on PA6/7/1/2/3

Go To Last Post
8 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi,

I'm still new to much of this, so please guide me on posting if I need it. 

Aim: I'm trying to create a low power LED driving gadget. The driver is a simple MOSFET/Inductor, driven by a microcontroller. I know this could be done by many uCs other than the 402 but I'm using this as I have had some success with it on other functions and am using it as a vehicle to learn more about AVRs and the 0/1 series tiny devices in general. To drive the LED, I need the uC to drive the MOSFET with a short pulse, wait for the inductor to discharge current through the LEDs and then when the inductor voltage drops, to drive the MOSFET again. The voltage source varies wildly with discharge of the store, so the pulse length of the MOSFET has to be adjustable. 

Approach: I realise that there may be other ways of generating these pulses dynamically, but it looks like the single shot TCB0 connected to the Waveform Output pin (if it exists) would be good. I might even be able to use Event System to detect the fall in voltage at the inductor terminal and trigger the next pulse before the inductor's ringing kicks in and the voltage rises again (can attach SPICE trace if really necessary but I hope it's not required).