Solved: ATTiny 414 & Using 32 kHz External Crystal for Waveform Generation (TCA & TCD)

Go To Last Post
13 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi Guys,

I'm going to apologize right off the bat, I'm still a beginner when it comes to programming, & I've been learning on the ATTiny 402 & 412. I've recently been programming with the ATTiny 412, & I want to switch to the 414 because of the additional pins & if I need more space, I could upgrade to the 814 quite easily. 

The one thing I found appealing about the 414 was that it has the option for a 32 khz external crystal. I've been using an external clock with the 412 to get about  .5% accuracy for PWM frequencies. This has been working well, but external clocks can get quite expensive, & I would rather switch to a crystal if possible to save money. 

So my first question is, would it be possible to run the main clock of the MCU at 16/20 MHz while using an external 32 kHz crystal for frequency reference for better accuracy (.5% to 1% accuracy desired)? 

The second question, if the above is possible. Would using both TCA and TCD for frequency generation be applicable with the external 32 kHz crystal? The reason I ask is I noticed on the 414 data sheet (page 59) that the 32 kHz external crystal doesn't go to TCD on CLKCSEL. I attached it for reference.

Lastly, if all is this possible. What would I need to change in my code in order to run the MCU at 16/20 MHz while using the 32 kHZ ext crystal as a reference for TCA & TCD? I've attached the code to this message.

Thanks in advance.

-Ankit 

FUSES = {
    .WDTCFG     = FUSE_WDTCFG_DEFAULT,
    .BODCFG     = FUSE_BODCFG_DEFAULT,
    .OSCCFG     = FREQSEL_16MHZ_gc,     //Select 16MHz OSC
    .TCD0CFG    = FUSE_TCD0CFG_DEFAULT,
    .SYSCFG0    = FUSE_SYSCFG0_DEFAULT,
    .SYSCFG1    = FUSE_SYSCFG1_DEFAULT,
    .APPEND     = FUSE_APPEND_DEFAULT,
    .BOOTEND    = FUSE_BOOTEND_DEFAULT,
};

int main(void)