RS485 auto config!

Go To Last Post
24 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi all
I have a master with 32 salve on RS485 bus.All the salves are the same sensors.my problem is how to address them automatically.I mean not hardcoding a seprate address for each salve in software.How my master can distinguish between them.Is there any idea or protocol?

Thanks in advance.

I love Digital
and you who involved in it!

You will need to assign a unique address to each slave. The slaves all listen to the master for their address. When one of the slaves recognizes its unique address it is allowed to talk to the master. Otherwise you would have to design hardware to allow the master to address the slave of interest.

Further if you have no intelligence on the slave end then it seems you would have to implement a 5 to 32 decoder select system on the master end to enable the slave of interest to talk to the master. look at a 74138 decoder or like IC for a decoder. If you do not use a decoder then you would need 32 I/o lines to do the select. Using a decoder reduces that down to 5 I/O lines.

Huh. Well, if you don't want hard-coded addresses, the slaves could come up with some random 8-bit number as the address, and if two slaves see that they have the same address, they come up with another random number, until there is no conflicts.

Or another way could be that a slave has some global configuration address, and first you must configure it to some address, that is stored to EEPROM. Downside is that there must only be one slave listening for the config data, until all are configured.

Usually manufacturers use dip switches, but there are some intelligent methods of doing this.

An auto method of giving unique IDs to same type devices, can be achived with software only, but with the disadvantage that you won't know each device ID. For example if the 32 slave devices are smoke sensors and the master is a BMS system, then how could inform the maintainer of which room is on fire.???