RS-485 versus CAN

Go To Last Post
33 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I'm working on an update to my weather station and need to decide how to bring the data into the house from the station itself.

My existing station is mounted to the outside wall of my garage and interfaces to the netbook that collects the data over a short (1 meter) RS-232 cable. The new station is going to be 40 meters from the house and mounted at the top of a 3 meter tower. I'd like to use something more robust than RS-232 here.

The two options I've considered are RS-485 and CAN. I have no experience with either, so that's not a criteria. The MCU I'm using has serial ports (for RS-485) and CAN ports, so that's covered.

Any recommendations?

I'd use RS485 only because I have no idea about CAN. :-)

John Samperi

Ampertronics Pty. Ltd.

www.ampertronics.com.au

* Electronic Design * Custom Products * Contract Assembly

+1

CAN can be a pain in the CAN ;)

RS-485 is a physical layer. You can get rid of your 232 drivers. and substitute rs485 in their place and your done if all the 232 is doing is tx/rx

The only hang up is if the station is doing simultaneous tx and rx, then use two sets of '485 driver/receivers and two pairs of wires.

I would rather attempt something great and fail, than attempt nothing and succeed - Fortune Cookie

"The critical shortage here is not stuff, but time." - Johan Ekdahl

"Step N is required before you can do step N+1!" - ka7ehk

"If you want a career with a known path - become an undertaker. Dead people don't sue!" - Kartman

"Why is there a "Highway to Hell" and only a "Stairway to Heaven"? A prediction of the expected traffic load?"  - Lee "theusch"

Speak sweetly. It makes your words easier to digest when at a later date you have to eat them ;-)  - Source Unknown

Please Read: Code-of-Conduct

Atmel Studio6.2/AS7, DipTrace, Quartus, MPLAB, RSLogix user

RS485 is an electrical standard. CAN is both the electrical standard and the protocol.