Reviving AT90S8515 Project Using AVRStudio 4.18

Go To Last Post
30 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I like working with old stuff with antiquated devices that have long become obsolete. But I am new to Atmel AVR stuff.

I have figured out that AVRStudio 4.18 supported the AT90S8515 (I have 2 NOS of these).  I have a 2015 vintage

project from the WEB complete with hex.

My install of AVRStudio & WinAVR will rebuild this project with a matching hex file even though the compiler and makefile throw

some errors. This is odd, but I'm just learning the output of Atmel stuff.

I am using WinAVR-20100110

Take a look and tell me what the errors mean, please. ?? means I dont get this.

On loading project:

Loaded plugin STK500
  gcc plug-in: No AVR Toolchain installation found. Using WinAVR instead if installed. The AVR GCC plug-in can still be used if you set up your own build tools.
  Loaded plugin AVR GCC
??Loaded partfile: C:\Program Files (x86)\Atmel\AVR Tools\PartDescriptionFiles\ATtiny2313
  Debugger: Break at line clock.c:147 has been disabled.

On cleaning I get an application error for rm.exe, maybe this version is incompatible.:

??      0 [main] sh 16348 sync_with_child: child 14760(0x1F4) died before initialization with status code 0xC0000142
??  50204 [main] sh 16348 sync_with_child: *** child state waiting for longjmp
?? /usr/bin/sh: fork: Resource temporarily unavailable
   rm -rf clock.o ds18b20.o rtc.o  clock.elf dep/* clock.hex clock.eep clock.lss clock.map
?? make: [clean] Error -1073741502 (ignored)
   Build succeeded with 0 Warnings...

On building:

Build started 13.9.2020 at 13:50:50
??      0 [main] sh 10452 sync_with_child: child 3404(0x1F4) died before initialization with status code 0xC0000142
??  57117 [main] sh 10452 sync_with_child: *** child state waiting for longjmp