A question on interrupts (Mega128)

Go To Last Post
8 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I've programmed on a lot of other micro-controllers (starting with the 6502 and 6802) in various languages (asm, BASIC and C), but I don't do this professionally.

I'm using a mega128 board (the xTW board below) to translate X10 TW523 interface (TTL serial SYNC bit stream data) to Insteon (RS232 via an Insteon PLM or Insteon PLC). Technically I could do UPB, Z-Wave or any other Home Automation protocol also. So far I'm through the pin assignment and Pseudo code stage. I'm now writing code to test what I think something is supposed to do (like generate an interrupt every 120th of a second and toggle a gpio bit).

This is my first time dealing with an AVR so I have some learning to do (sort of the main point of choosing the AVR). The reason for the Mega128 was the need for two serial ports and the 128K of flash may be necessary but still use an 8 bit processor.

I have a number of interrupts that I need to deal with. One is a timer to generate the 50/60 Hz zero crossing pulse to the TW523, another is a 1 ms timer for the uC Rx pulse to the TW523, another is the TW523 uC Tx pin (interrupt on change), EEPROM handling and finally there is the PLM RS232 receive interrupt. I've enclosed a high level function diagram:

X10       Insteon      Insteon or
        Raw         API        X10 PLC Cmd
 -----+     +-----+     +-----+
    Zc|<----|     |---->|Rx   |
 uC Tx|---->| xTW |     | PLM |---< AC >
    Rx|<----|     |<----|Tx   |
 -----+     +-+-+-+     +-+-+-+
           ^   \ \_[gnd]_/ /   ^
           |    \__[12v]__/    |
           |                   |
           |       TW523       |
           \    Replacement    /
            ---------v---------
                    xTW 

In the end I may end up with more things that can cause interrupts but for now it's just this (I'm still working out those details).