PWM Jitter added by ATMEGA328?

Go To Last Post
25 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I'm using the ATMEGA328 to make some PWM waveforms, which I'd like to ensure are as low in phase noise as possible. There doesn't seem to be a spec on phase accuracy of PWM outputs, relative to clock.

For example, using a crystal, I'm measuring around 1ns jitter on the clock output, as well as any derived PWM outputs. I assume this is from the crystal circuit.

I'm hoping that if I use a stand-alone oscillator, with specified jitter on the order of 1ps (easily available), the resulting PWM output jitter will be not-too-much higher. Make sense? Obviously I'll try it, but it's tricky to measure, and was hoping there was a spec (or experience) somewhere.

I'm a bit confused. How can you expect nanosecond accuracy from a piece of clocked logic that is running, at best, at 20MHz so has a 50ns clock period?

(but hey, what do I know, I'm just a software engineer ;-))

Quote:

...but it's tricky to measure,...

Indeed--how are you measuring the clock in the first place? And your measuring instrument must have some GHz of bandwidth to resolve this 1ns of jitter?

Given the whole of your post, I'd guess you are well aware of these things. Now, tell a bit more about the PWM -- frequency and bits and typical duty cycle. Does the clock jitter "catch up" over a number of clock cycles? Then, depending on how many clocks there are in a PWM period there might not be much effect?

Also, as a curiosity, what is this precision PWM driving?

Kind of an interesting question. I wonder what the results are if one does the same observations on e.g. an Xmega or different flavours of CortexM. And with and without PLL-derived master clock. And (for those that know them) on programmable logic like FPGA.

You can put lipstick on a pig, but it is still a pig.

I've never met a pig I didn't like, as long as you have some salt and pepper.