Pushbutton help?

Go To Last Post
32 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

OK, let me remind you that I am a newbie and now need more help. I was wondering if it possiable to pushbutton on PORTA pin 0 to able to do two different functions. If the pusbutton was pressed for 1 or 2 seconds, it would change the led chaser pattern, but if it was longer than 2 seconds, it would shut off and goto sleep mode. How can I hook up the button on the mega128 and the code is in C.

Shane

Thanks
Shane

A solution that is equally quick and dirty.

#define BUTTON (1<<0)

int main(void)
{
	uint16_t Pressed = 0;
	while(1)
	{
		while (PINA & ~BUTTON)
			Pressed++;
		if (Pressed > 10000)
			sleep();	// this probably isnt the right
					// name for the sleep function
		else
			dosomething();
		Pressed = 0;
	}
}
Last Edited: Thu. Oct 26, 2006 - 03:44 AM

Hook up the button:
Pullup resistor, say 10Kohms, PORTA-0 to Vcc.
N.O., S.P.S.T. PORTA-0 to GND.
Capacitor 100nF PORTS-0 to GND if you like.

The rest is software. What you describe is an event persistence timer. Pressing the button causes PARTA-0 to go low. This is the start of the event. Releasing the button allows PORTS-0 to go high, marking the end of the event. The time between (how long the condition persists) can be measured by counting the number of times through the loop waiting for the end of the event.

If your program is a bit more elegant, you can couint interrupt driven "ticks" or internal timers to measure the time of the event.

AS you are driving leds in a pattern you will be using at least one hardware timer.

SSet up a switch monitor routine such that if the required switch is not pressed it clears a global variable lets call it sw_time.

In the hardware interrupt function increase the value of sw_time.

While the switch is not pressed the value will not get very high between resets by the swicth monitor function. If it is pressed then it will not be reset so count up to a point at which it rolls over.