Programming Atmega1284p

Go To Last Post
74 posts / 0 new

Pages

Author
Total votes: 0

Hello AVR freaks,

I am a student and decided to design a system using the atmega1284p cause it is awesome, I really don't have any experience with microcontrollers and never programmed one but my issue currently is how to get the software on the uC,

my college has a pinmaster 48 programmer that is compatible with alot of uCs, it has direct pin interface and jtag/ISP.

My worry is the software is old and the 1284p is not on the list but the 664p is which I hear is similar.

Are there any way to use this machine to program the uC?

Thanks
I am starting to think I should I have just got 89s52 but it is not nearly as powerful.

I do not know hat a '664p' is.

The whole point of modern flash based MCUs is that you can program them in-circuit. i.e. ICSP or ISP.

You really do not want to be pulling chips in and out of a PCB for programming.
You just put a small 6-pin ISP header on your pcb and use a regular Atmel programmer like AVRISP-2 or usbasp.

If your mega1284P is on a dev board with USB or RS232 connections, you install a bootloader and never need an external programmer again. (you do need a programmer to program the bootloader)

If you are too poor to buy an AVRISP-2 or usbasp, you will need the 'Pinmaster 48' to be available to you. Will the college approve ?

Ask the manufacturer for an update to its software to handle the ATmega1284P.

David.

Quote:

pinmaster 48

The 1284 does not appear on this list:

http://www.mqp.com/text/devs48.txt

but many older mega AVRs do so I'm guessing this list may simply be out of date. The chances are the firmware of the programmer has an upgrade to cover the more modern ATmega too - worth asking at mqp.com

david.prentice wrote:
I do not know hat a '664p' is.

The whole point of modern flash based MCUs is that you can program them in-circuit. i.e. ICSP or ISP.