My first ATMega128 design usign KiCAD

Go To Last Post
8 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello,

Now the code is OK, tested using a stamp128 board I'm starting to work on the first prototype. I'm new to using CAD tools and electronics/AVR is also very new to me. So here is my very first schematic, based on pieces I found/was given.
Do you see anything stupid, possible improvements, bad choices or values ?

Thanks !

Attachment(s): 

A quick look shows you seem to be missing 2 important pins on your Max232, power and ground.

Library parts in some packages often omit the supply pins, to avoid clutter. They should appear in the PCB, of course. It should have a decoupling capacitor, which seems to have been omitted. It should be a MAX202, if it is using 100n capacitors.

The CA3140 is a very old op-amp, there are much better ones available.

The relays should have diodes across the coils.

Leon

Leon Heller G1HSM

Thanks. I'll investigate the power pins. As you mention, they are invisible.
Regarding the relay, isn't the diode embedded in the ULN2003 enough ?
Regarding the opamp, any replacement you know ?

Anything else (I expected more design errors from my first attempt, but I think routing all this will probably more challenging....)

Thanks.

Vincent

After 3 month of coding/debugging, I'm back on the design. I have even routed manually the schematic. I enclose the result. I adressed the max232 VCC/VDD by changind the library. Any hints for opamp replacement of the old CA3140) ?
Any comments (I must change the capacitor value also...) ?
The board is a simple 2 layer, with only 3 via.

Do you see something that would prevent it from working ?

Thanks.
Vincent

Attachment(s): 

Hi Vincent,

It looks like a fun project you are working on.

I took a quick look at the schematic and thought I'd mention a thing or two, for your consideration: