LCD 4x20 (SPLC780D) question

Go To Last Post
10 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi there,

It's my first time I use a 4x20 character LCD.

My problem is that I can't find the cursor position for each line start position.

Can you help me?

Michael

Michael.

User of:
IAR Embedded Workbench C/C++ Compiler
Altium Designer

Many 4x20 have character cell addresses like this (hex values):

00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F 10 11 12 13
40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 4A 4B 4C 4D 4E 4F 50 51 52 53
14 15 16 17 18 19 1A 1B 1C 1D 1E 1F 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27
54 55 56 57 58 59 5A 5B 5C 5D 5E 5F 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67

Here are portions of my function to set the 44780 DDRAM address from row and column

void LcdSetPosition( uint8_t row, uint8_t column)
{
	uint8_t addressInstruction = 0;
	if ((row == 2)||(row == 4)) {address += 0x40;}
	if ((row == 3)||(row == 4)) {address += 0x14;}
	addressInstruction += column - 1;
	addressInstruction |= (1<<7);

// Here follows the transmission of the Set DDRAM Address command
	// It builds on other functions I have. You'll have to use your own
	// functions to accomplish this...

// Wait for the Busy flag to clear
	LcdWaitBusy();

// RS low for Instruction
	LCD_CTRL_PORT &= ~(1<<LCD_RS);

// Send it!
	LcdSendByte(addressInstruction);
}

As of January 15, 2018, Site fix-up work has begun! Now do your part and report any bugs or deficiencies here

No guarantees, but if we don't report problems they won't get much of  a chance to be fixed! Details/discussions at link given just above.

"Some questions have no answers."[C Baird] "There comes a point where the spoon-feeding has to stop and the independent thinking has to start." [C Lawson] "There are always ways to disagree, without being disagreeable."[E Weddington] "Words represent concepts. Use the wrong words, communicate the wrong concept." [J Morin] "Persistence only goes so far if you set yourself up for failure." [Kartman]

Actually my code is this: