L293D motor controller brake problem.

Go To Last Post
13 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello,

I have a microcontroller attached to a L293D. The L293D is then attached as a standard HBridge to a small DC motor. Enable is tied high, I can drive the motor forwards and backwards just fine. But if I try to brake the motor (by, for example, raising both input lines to the motor high), it just coasts.

If I tie the two motor lines together I get the proper braking effect, so its appearently not the motor.

I also do get high voltage on both the motor leads.

It appears that the driver is preventing current flow between the two sides of the motor somehow (perhaps some kind of isolation?).

Anyone have any ideas what I might be doing wrong? Can I use the L293D to do this?

Forgive my naivety when it comes to electronics, Im still learning (hence the project).

Tyler

You are correct about the isolation. The device is only able to source or sink current from the power rails to your load, not short out the load.

The reason is that all of the power you wanted to dump from your motor in order to stop it would need to be dissipated by the driver IC. Now imagine that your motor were being driven at the device maximum ratings of 36V @ 600mA. If you wanted to suddenly stop that motor, you would have to dump 21W of power. A lot more than the package rating of 4W.

What you could do instead is drive a relay so that it connects your motor terminals to a power resistor in order to do the braking when you require. Failing that, there may be other drivers on the market that will have the braking features you are looking for.

Sacha.

The L293D iuses bipolar junction transistors, which aren't very good switches in the reverse direction. So even if the logic allowed, there's no way to turn them on.