How to program NGW100 u-boot with JTAGICE mkII

Go To Last Post
13 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I'm new to Linux and new to AVR32's I have developed several applications with 8-bit AVR's using a JTAGICE mkII.
After reading several posts here and on Wiki I still have not found the step by step for loading u-boot with AVR32program.
I'm running SUSE Enjterprise Desktop SP01
I also have sucessfuly compiled buildroot-avr32-v2.1.0-rc9
I have tried to create an SD load but with no luck...
so how do I use AVR32program with JTAGICE HELP!!

Dyan KV9R....

I think this docco is up to date: https://www.avrfreaks.net/wiki/in...

If you haven't already, explore the wiki for docco and the forum for faqs.

-S.

squidgit wrote:
I think this docco is up to date: https://www.avrfreaks.net/wiki/in...

I have seen this... a step up from avr32program -h..
but it assumes that one knows the values for all the switches and the flash locations.
The real problem I have found in working with the AVR32's is that all of the tips to programming I have found assume that the other person is Linux literate... I'm illiterate :wink: , I'm learning, but with every step I try I find that there are gaping holes in documentation and/or procedure.
An example is trying to get avr32program run for a user rather than root... I followed all the directions, created avrtools.rules made avrtools a group and added myself to avrtools group... still didn't work.. most likely I left something out that it was assumed that I would know how to do. Sorry for the rant :)

I found some answers from Atmel Support.
http://support.atmel.no/bin/cust...

Connect the JTAGICE mkII, and then use "avr32program" from the (Cygwin or Linux) command line prompt:

# avr32program erase -fcfi@0

# avr32program program -F bin -vfcfi@0 uboot.bin (Programming the bootloader)

# avr32program program -F bin -vfcfi@0 -O 0x20000 ngw_jffs2_root.img (Programming the filesystem)

I will try this this evening.... :lol: