Dragon DebugWire to mega168 not working

Go To Last Post
7 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

So as not to resurrect threads, I have similar problem to and have tried suggestions from this thread https://www.avrfreaks.net/index.p...

Basically, I can get into debug mode, but after a few steps, the debugger stops stepping, and it looks like my stack got munched.
I followed suggestions from the thread, and used a shorter cable, tried using 8mhz and then 125Khs internal clock - no joy, same symptoms - I can step into main about 3 lines, but once in a function, it's like the debugger refuses to step.
I'm just a hobbyist, this Dragon is like the max I can spend - should I try getting an atmega324 chip?

Besides it not doing much debugging, just downloading, I have managed to get the Dragon to "loose" comms by changing the ISP clock a few times, in order to try different setting, and had to reboot the Dragon.
I got a Dragon specifically to debug my programs which are becoming less trivial. Does DebugWire on your Dragon work with atmega168 or 324?

Conrad Braam - www.softcircuitry.blogspot.com - www.plcsimulator.org
Always start off poorly, that way when you finally figure it out, you can get a few surprise hits in.

It should work just fine.

The RESET line should not have any capacitors on it.
The pull-up resistor must be >= 10k.
The wires from the Dragon should be < 20cm or so.

Yes. The JTAG devices (like the mega324) will be easier / better for debugging than a debugWire chip (like mega328). You have several hardware breakpoints with JTAG.

All the same, dW works very well. You normally step through some code or run to a known breakpoint.

Do you have proper soldered joints?
Do you have 100nF decoupling capacitors close to the VCC,GND pins?

David.

More background and data: