Controlling a 1KW 230v Heater from an AVR Pin (help)

Go To Last Post
9 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Guyzz

Im going to build yet another Avr SMS controller.

It needs to control some 230v 800W..1200W heating panels in my dads sommercottage (also used in wintertime).

I think i have the SMS part in place , and the DS18S20 part.

But how do i control 4 pcs. of heaters at that Current.

I was thinking about either SolidState or Relays , but dont know if relays like the temps. We could be talking about -20 deg celsius here.

I would like to separate the boards so my M32 board , and the "Power" board was on 2 different PCB's.

Any hints (read schematics / Appnotes) , would be most welcome.
Im an electronics beginner in EMC & Analog. :oops:

/Bingo

At that power level, I would use relays to control the heaters.

Such relays probably take too much coil current to be actuated directly by the AVR. Here, FETs make a lot of sense. This would call for DC (coil) relays. The coils need to be rated for the low voltage power supply you have and the contacts need to be rated for the heater load (both voltage and current).

The only thing to really watch for while driving relays is that you need to transient-protect the driver. Either and RC "snubber" or a diode. The diode is connected so that it is reverse biased when the relay is activated. Then, when the driver shuts off and the voltage makes a transient above the power supply level, the diode will "catch" it. This diode does not need to be terribly fast but may need to handle a fair amount of current. A 1N400x ought to do it.

The FET you use for driving needs to be able to handle the coil current AND it needs to be rated for the relay coil supply voltage. That is the voltage present across the FET when the relay is off. You ALSO need to make certain that the gate threshold is low enough so that the AVR can be guaranteed to turn it on at ITS lowest supply voltage.