conFUSED about FUSEs in studio 4.10

Go To Last Post
4 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

This is only my third day of playing with AVRs, so I'm an AVR newbie. I'm using the new AVR Studio 4.10, JTAGICE MKII, STK500/501, mega 128L and assembler 2 beta 5.

Using the STK500 to program the OCDEN (on chip debug) fuse and the preserve EEPROM from erasure fuse works.

However, as soon as I debug with the JTAGICE MKII both of these two fuses get cleared (both STK500 and JTAGICE MKII show them cleared).

The 4.10 documentation * claimed * that clearing the EEPROM fuse when using JTAGICE MKII had been fixed :evil:.

Even though the OCDEN debug fuse is cleared, the break op-code still works under JTAGICE MKII. Since break is an on chip debug op-code, it appears the fuse must be set, at least while the JTAGICE MKII is debugging.

Am I crazy (rhetorical question only :)) or is anyone else out there seeing this also? On the other hand, maybe I am missing some fundamental understanding of JTAGICE MKII, AVR Studio 4.10 or something?

The OCDEN fuse is handled automatically by the JTAGICE. It will be programmed when you start the debugging session and erased when you leave (just remember that if you just remove power/software crash during debugging it will be left programmed). The EESAVE I can't help you, but have you checked the emulator options dialog box? It is possible there is a setting in this box that overrides the initial fuse setting.

Regards

Thanks for the reply and info. You are correct. I went back to look for another setting on the EEPROM fuse and found this:

Under Debug on the main menu, there is a “Select Platform and device” choice. When selected I get a “Select Device and debug platform” dialog window. This window has a check box for “Open platform options”, which I check. I also select JTAGICE mkII and Atmega128. Then after I start a Debug session, a “JTAGICE MKII” dialog window opens up with the following 3 tabs:
Connection, Debug and Status