can communication

Go To Last Post
14 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi.
Im looking in to CANbus communication. I'm thinking of using AT90CAN128 controller for this.
Im new to CAN communication..

The application is as follow:
I like to measure AC voltage frequency using AVR microcontroller. Then send result to a PLC with CAN communication. The PLC has CANopen communication. Master and slave modules.
First of all. IS it possible to communicate AT90CAN128 CAN controller with a CANopen devise. If so, should it be a CANopen Master or a slave module?

Thanks!

Absolutely, the AT90CAN128 will communicate with CANopen. The AT90CAN64 and AT90CAN32 will also work with CANopen. However, I don't know if you will be able to find any CANopen source code. The “open” in CANopen doesn't apply to source code (its not GPL or any other kind of open source license).

CANopen is a standard owned by CiA:
http://www.can-cia.org/

From what I have seen, CiA does not support the hobbyist that simply wants to interface with CANopen products. They do support developers/manufactures that pay CiA membership fees and want to design/build CANopen products.

I see something new. Now you can purchase a CANopen conformance test tool:
http://www.can-cia.org/index.php...

Its up to you too see if you can gather enough information on how CANopen works. You will probably have to write your own source code from scratch. Still, things change so do take the time to look for source code first.

Quote:
I don't know if you will be able to find any CANopen source code.

You don't need CANopen source code, write your own. The only hard part is PDO mapping, which you can do without. The second hardest part is segmented or block uploads/ downloads. You can do without those also.

You are left with either a periodic message with the data in it, or a message in response to a query.