burn usbasp bootloader using arduino?

Go To Last Post
32 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Is it possible to burn the atmega8 usbasp firmware using arduinoISP? If so can someone guide me how to make it? I'm using atmega8l-8pu because atmega8-16pu is not available at the moment.

Run the ArduinoISP sketch. It tells you which pins to connect for ISP. Connect LEDs to show status.

From a commandline, run avrdude -c stk500v1 -P com4 -b 19200 -p atmega8 ...

This is assuming the arduino is on com4.

David.

My atmega8 is on a breadboard. Do I have to use a crystal and resistors or just use the external clock? What about fuses do I need to burn them?

Sorry for bothering you. I'm just a noob.

This is my setup:

Your setup does not have any LED on digital #9 or #8. You will be a lot happier watching your ArduinoISP working.

Surely you must have some instructions with the USBasp project. Follow the instructions to the letter. You will probably be given an avrdude command. You just have to make sure you tell it the correct -c, -P, -b, -p parameters.

A virgin ATmega8 will not need a crystal. But if your target board has a crystal, you will need to set the fuses for a crystal.

Life is easier if you have a crystal on the breadboard. Then the AVR will run on the crystal as soon as you set the fuse.

Personally, I would do some practising with ArdunoISP. e.g. practice reading mega8 signature, program a blinky etc.

Then you program the USBasp firmware and fuses. Put the chip into the USBasp pcb and away you go.

David.

Just for reference, this is the USBAsp circuit:

I'm using an atmega8l-8pu and not atmega8-16pu. Do I use an 8mhz or 16mhz crystal?

Quote:

Do I use an 8mhz or 16mhz crystal?

Probably better to use the crystal that they specified in the design I would have thought?

You may not know this but USB works at either 12MHz or 480MHz. As AVR's cannot run at 480MHz then all AVR USB designs tend to have a 12MHz crystal.