Avr studio 6 and STK500 starter kit... Are they compatible??

Go To Last Post
11 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

HI. My name is Steve. I have recently bought an STK500 starter kit with a view to learning embedded C programming. I am an Audio systems undergraduate interested in MIDI and OSC. I have some experience with Arduino programminng and did some assembly on AMIGA computers years ago.

I would like to know if AVR studio 6 is compatible with the STK500 starter kit or do I have to use an older version?
My Uni tutor says I should get a copy of AVR studio 4 but he hasn't told me why...
Is there a reason??
Any help much appreciated.
Thanks in advance, :wink:

Atmel Studio doesn't automatically detect STK500, but still you can add them manually.
Check the menu "Tools -> Add STK500.." in Atmel Studio.

Refer this url for online help of Atmel Studio regarding STK500
http://www.atmel.no/webdoc/atmel...

Regards,
Deena

Quote:
My Uni tutor says I should get a copy of AVR studio 4 but he hasn't told me why...
Because it is more stable. Studio 6 is the latest but it will come with a lot of baggage at the moment which you may never use.

Also it MAY NOT support older chips for all I know.

John Samperi

Ampertronics Pty. Ltd.

www.ampertronics.com.au

* Electronic Design * Custom Products * Contract Assembly

Quote:
I would like to know if AVR studio 6 is compatible with the STK500 starter kit or do I have to use an older version?

Also depends on device you are going to use. Because AVR Studio5 and Atmel Studio6 supports limited devices with STK500 when compared with AVR Studio4.

Hi Guys and thanks for the responses.
The board I have comes with an ATMEGA 8 onboard and an ATMEGA16 as an extra. I'll probably use those as learning devices first. I am mainly interested in Digital Musical Interfaces using sensors (ultrasonic, accelerometer, hall effect etc, displays (LCD, TFT) MIDI and OSC. That sort of thing.