avr-gcc 4.7.0 for the brave

Go To Last Post
205 posts / 0 new

Pages

Total votes: 0

Magister wrote:
When you fill a bugzilla entry for it, PM me the number, I'll add myself on the CC list!
It's PR52692

avrfreaks does not support Opera. Profile inactive.

ezharkov wrote:
[...] did not quite like __attribute__((always_inline)). It said "always_inline function might not be inlinable".
Are the functions declared as inline?

Hello guys, I'm new to avr programming. I tried building avr-gcc with gcc 4.7.0 and binutils 2.22 and avrlibc 1.8 (latest releases), but I seem to be missing some microcontrollers from the available devices list. Mainly the atxmega128a3u, which I'm currently using.

What are the recommended versions for stable builds, which also include the latest microcontrollers? I don't want to be on the cutting edge, just to be stable (don't really care for size optimizations just yet)

SprinterSB wrote:
Magister wrote:
When you fill a bugzilla entry for it, PM me the number, I'll add myself on the CC list!
It's PR52692
Thanks for having added me :idea:

SprinterSB wrote:
ezharkov wrote:
[...] did not quite like __attribute__((always_inline)). It said "always_inline function might not be inlinable".
Are the functions declared as inline?
No, they were not. Adding inline helped.

wek wrote:

volatile char c;

int main (void) {
  __asm__ volatile ("lds  r16, c" ::: "r16");
}

Even more instructive than __attribute__((used)) with c would be to make the usage explicit:
char c;

int main (void) {
  __asm__ volatile ("lds  r16, %0" :: "i" (&c) : "r16");
}

Quote:

Mainly the atxmega128a3u, which I'm currently using.

As Atmel's 4.5.1 toolchain does support that device seek out their patch set and find out what the patch that adds 128a3u actually affects. Then make similar mods. to the files in the toolchain source you are using. IOW backport the patch to 4.7.x

clawson wrote:
Quote:
Mainly the atxmega128a3u, which I'm currently using.