ATtiny3217: RTC won't wake CPU from sleep if sleep is induced from pin interrupt vector.

Go To Last Post
23 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I hope the title makes sense, I'm a newbie at this...

If I put the MCU (ATtiny3217) to sleep in the main() function it will sleep until the RTC period times out, wake up and continue executing the code placed after sleep_mode(). If I do that from the ISR(PORTA_PORT_vect) it won't wake up at all and I can't figure out why. I have this working fine on the ATtiny1634 using WDT interrupt (not reset) to wake up.

Background: This is flashlight firmware with a mechanical switch for on/off. I have the flashlight do different things depending on how long the power was out. When power is out the MCU is running from a 100uF cap. With the 1634 I have a pin interrupt that triggers when the pin goes low (the pin is connected to V+ and has a pull down resistor). The interrupt code turns off the pin interrupt, shuts down peripherals and does the following loop until power is restored (pin is high) or BOD induces reset:

ISR(PCINT2_vect) {
    PINT_Stop();
    PORTA = 0;
    PORTB = 0;
    PORTC = 0;
    PRR = 0b01101111;       // Everything off in Power Reduction Register except Timer/Counter0.

cli();
    MCUSR = 0;              // Clear MCU status register.
    CCP = 0xD8;             // Enable Watchdog configuration change.
    WDTCSR = 0;             // Disable and clear all Watchdog settings.

OffTime = 0;

do {
        OffTime++;
        set_sleep_mode(SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN);
        CCP = 0xD8;                         // Enable Watchdog configuration change.
        WDTCSR = (1 << WDIE) | 0b011;       // Setup Watchdog for interrupt (not reset) every 125ms.
        sleep_mode();
        cli();
    }
    while (!POWER);         // Repeat until power back or BOD resets.
}