Attiny2313 Flash Led Tutorial.

1 post / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

As I am an old programmer I suddenly got into the urge to start back programming again. Being it's now 2018 for me it was hard to figure out the ins and outs of the usbasp and junk. back in my day I used an old parallel port programmer and IC-PROG. 

I looked all over the internet for a quick Flash on off I could just use to ensure I had my hardware configured correctly. However, I was unable to find a usable flash file for the attiny2313. This created even more problems for me since all I wanted was a working flash so I could troubleshoot my programmer etc,,. I eventually made my way back to where I once was after several post here, and several stressful days of failure. 

I am using a very basic usbasp atmega8 programmer that plugs into your usb port. I quickly learned to use a program called (zadig 2.3) build 701 on a windows 7 computer. I wasn't sure how to use the program for a few days due to the stress and aggravation of drivers and other programmers that was distracting me, I was under allot of stress. So this information is not for the educated but for the next new-comer that's seeking to do exactly what I was.  

So Open Zadig and select (options) tab and select List all devices. Then in the top dropdown box you should see your programmer, dont worry if you dont know what your looking for because you can actually unplug your USbasp and re-plug it back in and you will be able to see your device as it pops up in the drop down menu and dissapear again when its unplugged.

once you've located your device, select  the libusb driver and click replace driver. 

you can click your start menu on your windows 7 or so machine and right click on (my computer) and you should then see a manage option to click on. When the dialogue box appears double click device manager. your device should be under (libusb-win32 devices) - and it should say USBasp. if so, your good.