Need Help Using the ATTiny104 Xplained Nano on a Mac

Go To Last Post
15 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I'm pretty new to mcu programming so I'm looking for a little help. I just got an ATTiny104 Xplained Nano and I'm trying to do a simple blink program just to make sure that I have my toolchain setup correctly. I am using a Mac so I can'y just download Atmel Studio so I'm doing it all with avr-gcc. With the help of this forum I finally got it compiling by adding the atpack files to the avr-gcc folder but now I'm trying to flash it to the device with avrdude. I found a post (again on here) about updating the avrdude.conf file to add the attiny102/104 so I added that but I can't get it to communicate with the built in programmer. My first attempt was:

$avrdude -c usbasp -p attiny104 -u -U flash:w:main.hex

But that says:

avrdude: error: could not find USB device with vid=0x16c0 pid=0x5dc vendor='www.fischl.de' product='USBasp'

So I thought that maybe it didn't have the right programmer configuration so I got the vid, pid, vendor and product and added a new entry to the avrdude.conf file that looks like this:

programmer
  id    = "xplained";
  desc  = "Xplained, http://www.microchip.com/Developmenttools/ProductDetails.aspx?PartNO=ATTINY104-XNANO";
  type  = "usbasp";
  connection_type = usb;
  usbvid     = 0x03EB; # ATMEL
  usbpid     = 0x2145; # Xplained built in programmer
  usbvendor  = "ATMEL";
  usbproduct = "mEDBG CMSIS-DAP";
;

Then I try again with this command:

$avrdude -c xplained -p attiny104 -u -U flash:w:main.hex

and it seems to find the device but it can't communicate with it resulting in this error:

avrdude: error: usbasp_transmit: Broken pipe
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: error: program enable: target doesn't answer. 0
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.