ATtiny10 and STK600 Issues

Go To Last Post
92 posts / 0 new

Pages

Author
Total votes: 0

Hello all.

This newbie to Atmel is attempting to program an ATtiny10 using the STK600. Unfortunately, the STK600 documentation is scarce, but JohanEkdahl
pointed out a much newer version on the http://support.atmel.no site.

The help file in AVR Studio4 is a very abbreviated version of that on-line help for the STK600.

Background: Since I'm a newbie to Atmel let me explain what I'm trying to do. I plan to use the PWM offered by the TIny10 to vary the brightness of an LED using button pushes. I originally did this on the PIC10F222 platform and found it simple to use and debug using the PICKit 2 and header. Total investment was $75. It was easy to use, program and debug in both the Low-Pin-Count-Demo-Board and my target breadboard. I want to use the Tiny10 because it has PWM hardware on-board.

I plan to post different problems/issue/successes on this trhead and anyone who has mercy or pity for me is welcome to push/poke/prod me in the right direction.

Thanks for your support.

Bob

My AVR Studio4 4.16.628 software is up to date. The Tools->STK600 help file contains 5 pages - that's it. - No help at all.

The STK600 on-line help does not mention TPI programming (I can't search the on-line help so I may have missed it).

I needed to use the ISP interface for TPI - I had to guess that since there is no documentation for it Conclusion: The STK600 is not a newbie platform!

I couldn't read the Tiny10 signature when I tried and an unlabeled green LED went red on the STK-600. Apparently there was a problem - but what?

Trial and error led me to set the clk switch to external. But that's not in the documentation under SBI Programming. The ATTiny10 is not listed in the on-line help file, but was in the AVR Studio version of STK600 help. And I missed the setting of the target voltage - the green LED was not on!