Atmega328p UART and EM-18 (RFID Reader)

Go To Last Post
10 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

So im still pretty new at this, but im trying to make sure im learning to understand datasheets..and basically being able to implement them in the simplest way possible. UART was the first "communication protocol" I learned on the AVR. It seems pretty simple (at least so far, im sure im missing something). From my understanding:

UART: Hardware for sending RS232 Signals

RS232: Standard for Communicating through serial.

The UART is responsible for adjusting the voltage levels to RS232 levels correct...or can it only send TTL Serial Levels? 

From my understanding TTL Serial is 0 to Vcc (so 5v or 3.3v), and we would use a MAX232 to actually adjust from a 5v level to 232v level (MAX does this through charge pumps, which im not sure how "precisely" these work...but I understand the general concept). Otherwise the MAX232 is essentially just a shift register right? Taking a 5v level, turning it into +/- ~12V level (Although I think it's inverted from my reading, IE: 0v TTL is +12V and 5v TTL is -12V?). Or does it literally just convert logic levels and thats it. (Maybe im thinking that the UART is essentially a shift register....anyways)

So anyways assuming I have the idea of serial transmission (hopefully im not super far off) I was trying to figure out the UART on the Atmega328p (along with the EM-18 RFID Reader). From my understanding from the UART Initialization I would need to do something like this:

(Assume my Clock is running at 1MHz, default chip setup)

/* Set Baud Rate */
/*
Pretending I want a Baud of 9600
Formula's taken from Datasheet:
F_CPU = 1000000UL I assume? 
UBRRN = F_CPU/((9600*16)-1) 
(So like around 6.51, datasheet mentions 6 for 1MHz, so I guess thats close?)

Sidequestion: Why does the Datasheet also literally have a BAUD calculation?
*/

void init_usart0(void) {
// Don't need to touch UCSR0C Since Async Operation