ATMEGA32 and MQ135 to calculate Air Quality

Go To Last Post
6 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello everyone, 

Firstly I must apologize for asking such a newbie question that may appear completely dumb to those frequenting these forums. My background is programming and not hardware, this in part is why I am having difficulties, as I understand that data sheets hold all the answers, but unfortunately in most cases they look like foreign language to me. Nonetheless I am trying to learn and while I am posting here I am continuing to google and read up on things as well. So please take it easy on me. I come in peace and seek knowledge.

Background:

I took an embedded programming class back in college. I am in California, our fires are making our air really bad right now (I am sure you have all seen on the news). I thought... hey, I still have that ATMEGA32 and breadboard, and I love tinkering, I can make my own Air Quality sensor! I ordered an MQ135 sensor, it arrived yesterday, I hooked everything up and am able to read values from the analog pin.

My goal: To get a local (indoor) reading in same units that a typical weather app uses. As seen here (random image from google):  https://imgur.com/a/RO3TEMY

and that follows this chart: https://imgur.com/ppW2NIN

The measurement is in PPM. And as far as I understand MQ135 is capable of capturing this information (this is one of those parts where I may be saying dumb things). I know MQ135 measures only a select few gases, and is unable to split out that information, instead it basically shows the highest reading based on resistance, it has no idea which gas actually caused it. And I dont care (should I?), I want to know relative to the chart above how bad the air in my house is. If its smoky outside I am ok with just assuming its the smoke thats causing the number to be what it is.

Now here is where I am now: