ATMega128V programming

Go To Last Post
12 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi there,

It is my first time using the ATMega128V device and I would like to make a new design using it.

For now, I have used a lot of other devices using STK500 for parallel programming in order to set and reset the fuse bits like RESET DISABLE, DEBUG WIRE ENABLE and ISP ENABLE.

Reading the AVRStudio help I found that for programming this device I have to buy the STK501. As I see this device use other pins for ISP than other devices like ATMega88,16,32 or tiny devices.

Which is the better way for working with this device.

I also see that the Mega128 does not support the break command.

I have one STK500 and one MK2.

Could you help me to clear in my mind what I need and what to do?

Thank you,

Michael.

Michael.

User of:
IAR Embedded Workbench C/C++ Compiler
Altium Designer

The only addition you need is the 501. Once you mount a 128 in one of those and clip it into the 500's expansion connectors everything else is pretty painless. It's actually much easier to connect the JTAGICEmk2 to it than to the 500 normally. And for ISP programming you just run the normal 6 wire cable from ISP6PIN on the 500 to the 6 pin header on the 501 - no need to worry about the 128's different pin usage - that's all "hidden" from you.

Cliff

Cliff,

having the device soldered on my design board, may I connect the 6 pins from the STK500 in order to program it?
I mean ok, I need the 501 for parallel programming because all the signals needed is adapted from the 500 to the 501 tQFP socket, so I will order it.
But I am right connecting the 6 ISP pins from the 500 will program my device well. Is that true?

Also how about the ATMega128 break command support???
Is this a problem? may I have to use another part before getting deeper in my project?

Thanks for your time.

Michael

Michael.

User of:
Altium Designer