ATmega 328P, why won't you talk to me?

Go To Last Post
22 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi everybody, first time post so it's probably in the wrong area and (hopefully) brain-dead simple to somebody with a little more experience than me. I'm working on some custom arduino uno based thing, which is what got me hopeful it might work right the first time. I've done bare-metal programming before, but this is my first time working with an SMD uc on a bespoke PCB and I'm really struggling to even figure out what might be going wrong so I can deal with it. Here's what I've done so far:

1. Assembled first PCB
  2. Utterly borked it (reflow station too hot, too much paste, insufficient blood sacrifice)
  3. Assembled second PCB
  4. Checked for shorts
  5. Checked voltage regulators are working
  6. Setup an arduino as an ISP (is that even how to use that in a sentence?)
  7. Attempted to burn arduino bootloader (end goal is an arduino-ecosystem compatible widget)
  8. "Device signature = 0x000000"
  9. Burnt a known-good arduino, upload worked
  10. Realised I had shorted the reset button, desoldered it
  11. Realised I had flipped an op-amp driven by the ATmega, cut the trace
  12. "Device signature = 0x000000"

Here's the schematic for the uc. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel here, so this is more than 90% just the uno schematic. Which is why I'm so stumped why it's not working.

I've been bashing my head against this wall for a few hours and am a bit stumped on where to go next.

• I used a hot-air gun to reflow the paste, could I have cooked the ATmega?

• Counter - this is not my first smd pcb assembled like this, and I've never cooked a chip before but by no means an expert
  • Just a bad chip?
    • Counter - what the hell do I do about it, and how can I check an SMD-uc before committing to assembling a full board?
  • I'm having issues with my usb-uart converter too. Could it be related?