Forum Menu

New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
lammelm
PostPosted: Jun 29, 2010 - 03:16 PM
Hangaround

Hi!

I'm facing now a problem, namely that I have to measure analog signals in very rough industrial environment. The measured analog signal comes from a sensor over a long (5-10 meters) cable. The inputs must be protected agains EMI and ESD, and even a the case must be considered, that the 440V mains voltage is suddenly present on the inputs. So the inputs must be very high impedance inputs with lot's of protection.
The signal is a slow signal so the capacitance of the protection devices in not really important. But the leakage current should be as low as possible.

Does anybody have experience in that field? Any suggestion, links, books, tutorials are welcome.

Thanks,
Mik

Reply with quote Back to top
DocJC
PostPosted: Jun 29, 2010 - 03:34 PM
Raving lunatic

I'm not an expert, but I'll share a thought or two to get things started.

The input impedance for AVR ADCs is (usually?) spec'd at <= 10K. This means you can't just put a large series resistor on the input.

You may well end up with an op-amp stage at the input, with input protection for the op-amp's input, and the op-amp feeding the ADC.

The op-amp can easily have a large input resistor, and then diode voltage clamps to V+ and gnd.

I would use a shielded cable, also.

Consider whether or not you can put the micro next to the sensor, and send a digital signal over the 5-10 m distance to whatever. Transmitting a digital signal in a noisy environment may be easier.

Obviously in noisy environments you may want to consider taking multiple samples and averaging them. The software equivalent of puting an analog filter on the front end. You probably want to do both, but you did not mention how fast you need to be measuring the signal, or your accuracy requirements.

JC

lammelm
PostPosted: Jun 29, 2010 - 04:18 PM