Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
bobgardner
PostPosted: Jan 10, 2009 - 03:31 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Sep 04, 2002
Posts: 24109
Location: Orlando Florida

I got a New Haven Displays 2.4" TFT LCD with an HX8347 controller on it... the example init sw from NHD uses 16 bit parallel. I think I can use spi to talk to it. If anyone has one of these displays, it would be great to be able to pick your brain on how it works. It also has a 4 wire touch screen, but NHD doesnt have any example sw for that, I assume it gets hooked up to 4 a/d channels. Think I'm on the right track?

_________________
I ain't nobody's uncle, so don't call me that.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
zbaird
PostPosted: Jan 11, 2009 - 06:36 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Aug 13, 2006
Posts: 7493
Location: Bellingham, WA - USA

I don't have one, so I'm no help to you. But the HX8347-A datasheet has this entry in the revision history:
Quote:
2007/06/05 1. Update Initial code for Normal Display in Register-Content
Interface mode.
2. Add Normal Display Initial code for CMO 2.4 LCD in
Register-Content Interface mode.
3. Modify Pin name in Figure 7.8~7.15 and . Figure 7.18~7.21
4. Modify SPI read GRAM timing.

_________________
Chuck Baird
"Sheep? You think we are sheep? Bah!"
http://www.cbaird.org
Cast expressions, not aspersions.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
bobgardner
PostPosted: Jan 11, 2009 - 07:56 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Sep 04, 2002
Posts: 24109
Location: Orlando Florida

This my theory: put it in 16 bit mode where every pixele is 565 rgb. It has top, left, right, bottom window regs that define an area, and direction regs thattell which way to increment the cursor. This makes it easy to fill the screen... set the window to full screen and do 240x320 writes of the fill pixel word. But to use it with an avr that doesnt have a 150K ram frame buffer of 76k pixels, to write one pixel at 123,234 you set the window area to this one pixel loc, and write the pixel. I think I could have 2 'layers' of 4 bits per pixel if I had a mega128 with an external ram treated as 4 bits per pixel, but first I just want to be able to init the thing and draw a line in a color.

_________________
I ain't nobody's uncle, so don't call me that.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
tmeinc
PostPosted: Sep 22, 2009 - 06:57 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jun 29, 2001
Posts: 11
Location: Escondido, California

BobGardner.

did you ever succeeded to run this display/
I use on from AV-LCD with the same controller and I can fill the screen with different colors but don't know how to access a single pixel.
How do you do it?

Thanks.

Rock.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
DocJC
PostPosted: Sep 22, 2009 - 09:43 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Dec 11, 2007
Posts: 8462
Location: Cleveland, OH

Quote:
It also has a 4 wire touch screen, but NHD doesnt have any example sw for that, I assume it gets hooked up to 4 a/d channels


Old thread, I know.

Bob, isn't it V+, Gnd and TWO ADC inputs. One for Vertical, one for Horizontal?

JC
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
glitch
PostPosted: Sep 22, 2009 - 09:45 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Jan 12, 2002
Posts: 7834
Location: Canada

DocJC wrote:

Bob, isn't it V+, Gnd and TWO ADC inputs. One for Vertical, one for Horizontal?


No. You need 4 I/O's, only 2 actually need to be ADC's. But you definitely need to be ably to switch all 4 lines between VCC, GND, and input mode (HiZ).

Atmel did a pretty decent app-note on 4 & 5 wire touch screen interfaces.
http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod ... oc8091.pdf
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DocJC
PostPosted: Sep 22, 2009 - 09:47 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Dec 11, 2007
Posts: 8462
Location: Cleveland, OH

Got it!

Thanks for the link.

JC
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
tmeinc
PostPosted: Sep 23, 2009 - 08:59 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jun 29, 2001
Posts: 11
Location: Escondido, California

Bob,

I followed your sugestions and reduced the window to one pixel and that allows me to write single pixels but also to write larger pixels.

Thanks for the info.

Rock.
tmeinc wrote:
BobGardner.

did you ever succeeded to run this display/
I use on from AV-LCD with the same controller and I can fill the screen with different colors but don't know how to access a single pixel.
How do you do it?

Thanks.

Rock.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
fabiozaza
PostPosted: Mar 02, 2010 - 09:28 AM
Newbie


Joined: Mar 02, 2010
Posts: 5


Hey, for the last couple of days I've been trying to get my 2.4' HX8347 display to work using the SPI mode.. all the datasheets say that you can use spi with this screen and give all the timing diagrams for getting it to work..

But with countless tries the display isnt showing anything...

Did you ever manage to get the display to work in SPI mode or just using the 16 bit pararllel lines?

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tmeinc
PostPosted: Mar 02, 2010 - 05:52 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jun 29, 2001
Posts: 11
Location: Escondido, California

My display data sheet shows no SPI interface only 8 and 16 bits. I use it with 8 bits.
I wish I would be able to use SPI but it is not connected to the display connector.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
fabiozaza
PostPosted: Mar 03, 2010 - 06:44 AM
Newbie


Joined: Mar 02, 2010
Posts: 5


Is there any where that I can get code for the AVR to test my display? I've been trying to get teh SPI to work on my ET024006DHU display but with no luck, so I might need to change to 8 bit bus instead.

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
theusch
PostPosted: Mar 03, 2010 - 02:10 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Feb 19, 2001
Posts: 29287
Location: Wisconsin USA

Quote:

My display data sheet shows no SPI interface only 8 and 16 bits. I use it with 8 bits.
I wish I would be able to use SPI but it is not connected to the display connector.



Quote:

I've been trying to get teh SPI to work on my ET024006DHU display but with no luck, so I might need to change to 8 bit bus instead.

When I put ET024006DHU into a Google search, the first hit was a listing at Farnell which has a link to the datasheet.

In the display datasheet, there are mentions of SPI along with a timing diagram. The controller is said to be Himax HX8347. The first Google hit on that is an "application note" that looks a lot like a datasheet. There is a schematic for serial connection, along with a command description.

It doesn't lay it all out, but the guts seems to be there.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tmeinc
PostPosted: Mar 03, 2010 - 05:22 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jun 29, 2001
Posts: 11
Location: Escondido, California

yes the controller has it but on the display I am using they didn't bring the SPI lines to the connector.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
bobgardner
PostPosted: Mar 03, 2010 - 05:27 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Sep 04, 2002
Posts: 24109
Location: Orlando Florida

I think the controller chip itself has spi inputs, but the NHD display uses parallel.

_________________
I ain't nobody's uncle, so don't call me that.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
asiraasr
PostPosted: Jan 31, 2012 - 04:04 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jan 31, 2012
Posts: 1


Hi AVRfreaks !!
To replace my 16x2 character LCD,just purchased a 4DLCD-32T lcd module from here http://www.4dsystems.com.au/prod.php?id=130

Downloaded HX8347 Datasheet from here http://www.4dsystems.com.au/downloads/D ... ary_01.pdf

LCD datasheet from here
http://www.4dsystems.com.au/downloads/D ... LCD-32.pdf

Board Schematic from here
http://www.4dsystems.com.au/downloads/C ... 32-sch.pdf

Initialisation Code from here
http://www.4dsystems.com.au/downloads/D ... 2-Init.txt

I need a Graphics Library for this lcd so that i can easily write a program (WinAVR, ATmega32). Please help..
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clawson
PostPosted: Jan 31, 2012 - 04:13 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Jul 18, 2005
Posts: 71915
Location: (using avr-gcc in) Finchingfield, Essex, England

Quote:

That C code should win some kind of award!

_________________
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits