Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
pay.c
PostPosted: Sep 05, 2007 - 10:01 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 10


Hi there!

Attached you can find PCBīs for adapting the famous Nokia 3310 LCD to a 5 Volt system. Furthermore the PCB is compatible to breadboards and experiment boards and so on and so on. Youīll find all the features in the attached file.

Unfortunately the only order chart I got is from reichelt.de (as Iīm from Germany and itīs the best electronics seller here). If someone could adapt this to digikey or similar, this would be awesome! Smile

If you find any bugs or somethingīs missing, pls let me know!

Besides: I wouldīve liked to post this as a complete project (it will get lost in the forum in letīs say one year for sure) but as you might know there is neither a "Type" nor a "Compiler/Assembler" entry which is suitable for such "only PCB" projects. Maybe you could introduce a new project type for this? I do think this could bring the redundant work down for many people!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
zoomcityzoom
PostPosted: Sep 06, 2007 - 01:48 AM
Posting Freak


Joined: Nov 10, 2005
Posts: 1539
Location: Kirkland, WA

Nice project. I too think that AVRfreaks could use a hardware project entry method.

Tom
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: Sep 06, 2007 - 12:04 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6606
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

Hi pay.c (and Tom of course Smile )

Indeed very nice and thanks for sharing this.
I asked Eivind to add the HW-only possibility in the Project-area.

Cheers

Nard

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
pay.c
PostPosted: Sep 06, 2007 - 12:30 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 10


Very cool, thanks a lot! Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajay_bhargav
PostPosted: Sep 13, 2007 - 10:08 PM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 13, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Khanna, IN

hi pay.c
thank you so so so much Very Happy i don't think this topic will ever get lost as google is keeping eye on it Wink

----------
EDIT:

pay.c i really want to thank you sooo..... much.. don't have words Very Happy i mean after burning 2 LC displays i found this.. Razz thank you so much.. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

one question.. i don't have 220ohm resistor, rather i have 1K resistor.. will this do the job? in the PCB? and work with 5V?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
buserror
PostPosted: Sep 14, 2007 - 12:18 AM
Hangaround


Joined: Apr 12, 2007
Posts: 299
Location: Windsor, UK

pay.c would you possibly have the Eagle footprints ? maybe ?

It's a great project, thanks for posting it.

_________________
Author of simavr - Follow me on twitter : @buserror
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pay.c
PostPosted: Sep 16, 2007 - 09:28 AM
Newbie


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 10


@ajay: I did not try that at all, but anyhow, it *should* work. The resistors are just limiting the current running into the LCD controller, so 1kīs should also work well at not to high SPI speeds. If you run into problems (what I donīt think) just lower the SPI speed and everything should be just fine.

@buserror: Attached youīll find my own Eagle library (I had to zip it so the forum accepts it). Just donīt mind all the other stuff, itīs some kind of my "working library". Itīs just darn uncomfortable in Eagle to get something in a library deleted or copied, so I just give you the whole package. Anyhow both Nokiaīs do work. btw: I use Eagle 4.11 light if there are any problems opening it.

BIG Thanks to all for your regards. Itīs good to know that your work is actually used and not totally useless. Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajay_bhargav
PostPosted: Sep 16, 2007 - 12:58 PM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 13, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Khanna, IN

hi pay.c
Smile i heard and saw people using nokia LCD at 5V.. have you ever tried it?

_________________
Rickey's World of Microcontrollers
www.rickeyworld.info
www.8051projects.net
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
pay.c
PostPosted: Sep 16, 2007 - 07:06 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 10


Errrrrrrrrrrrr, say, did you actually read this thread? I am doing that and itīs working fine, just download the file...

Question

Or did I miss something?

In other words: The PCB brings the 5 V down to 3,3 for VCC (with the two voltage dividing resistors) and the other (logical) lines donīt need downscaling as long as you use the resistors in front.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajay_bhargav
PostPosted: Sep 22, 2007 - 04:45 PM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 13, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Khanna, IN

I know what you did in the PCB Smile
well i was asking something else Smile is ok! Very Happy
thank you so much again for the PCB Smile

_________________
Rickey's World of Microcontrollers
www.rickeyworld.info
www.8051projects.net
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
pay.c
PostPosted: Sep 24, 2007 - 11:37 AM
Newbie


Joined: May 09, 2006
Posts: 10


Hmmm, did you mean VCC 5V? Running the LCD on 5V VCC and 5V logic levels? I didnīt try that at all as I am afraid youīll fry the LCD with the time. It should work for a short shot, but over time youīll perhaps fry the controller. Anyhow, as you get those LCDīs for nothing (4 Euros or so) -> just try it and tell us. Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
silentwol
PostPosted: Aug 14, 2009 - 06:40 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jun 23, 2008
Posts: 4


First off, sorry for dragging up a thread over 4 years old!

I've just made the PCB and connected it up. At one stage I got some text to appear on the screen, then the next time I powered up it didn't come back. It could be a loose connection or something.

Anyway, my question is: why isn't reset connected? The datasheet says:
Quote:
Immediately following power-on, the contents of all internal
registers and of the RAM are undefined. A RES pulse
must be applied. Attention should be paid to the
possibility that the device may be damaged if not properly
reset.


Could this be my problem?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits