Forum Menu

New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
mislude19
PostPosted: Jun 12, 2006 - 08:35 AM

I'm a student and would like to build my pc monitor into a touch screen one. Please tell me a good site that give a good resource for it. Thanx a lot !!

Reply with quote Back to top
estepario
PostPosted: Jun 12, 2006 - 08:48 AM
Hangaround

Please, we need more information.

Best regards

peret
PostPosted: Jun 12, 2006 - 09:54 AM
Raving lunatic

It's very hard to make your own. For best results it has to conform to the curve of the monitor tube. It's much easer to put one on an LCD, and it's better still to pick up a monitor that already has one installed. The easiest kind to get are open frame, made for kiosks or similar equipment. The industry leader for touch screens is Microtouch. I'm sure there are dozens of places to get monitors but I happen to know Wells Gardner does them with touch screens. IMHO the best touch screens are the surface acoustic wave screens from ELO, but they are also very expensive.

A resistive touchscreen, the kind on a palm pilot, is very cheap by comparison. It has two conductive plastic sheets with microscopic spacers holding them apart. First you apply a DC voltage left to right on one sheet, and measure the voltage you read on the other; this gives you the X coordinate. Then apply a DC voltage top to bottom on the other sheet, and measure the voltage on the first one; this gives the Y coordinate. There are chips that do all this automatically and give you a serial output.

tpappano
PostPosted: Jun 20, 2006 - 04:28 PM
Raving lunatic

Elographics (ELO) also sells monitors with screens mounted. I have used hundreds
of their SAW screens, and they are absolutely the best. Rock stable, and the clear
glass does not interfere with image clarity. You also have Z axis functionality.

Microtouch's capacitive screens are useless (or worse).