Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
uptime0
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:10 PM
Rookie


Joined: Oct 07, 2011
Posts: 35


I got some chips in from Digi-Key, which were giving me the wrong signature byte. Here's what avrdude said about them:

Code:

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9514
    avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA328P is 1E 95 0F
    Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.


I sent a query about this to Digi-key. Their response is confusing me a bit, hoping someone could clarify.

The order was for 4 ATMega328p processors - Digi-key part #ATMEGA328-PU-ND.

The response from Digi-key was

"The ATMEGA328-PU-ND is NOT a ATMEGA328P it's a ATMEGA328 so the signature should NOT
match"

Aside from the fact that what I ordered was a 328p and they seem to be telling me they sent a 328, I can't find a definitive statement of what the difference between -P and -PU is. Clarification would be welcome.

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
MBedder
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:19 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 02, 2009
Posts: 3239
Location: Zelenograd, Russia

Not -P but just P. ATMega328 and ATMEGA328P are almost same chips but manufactured with different tecnological processes. The suffix (-P, -PU etc.) shows just a package related information which is clearly described in RTFM.

_________________
Warning: Grumpy Old Chuff. Reading this post may severely damage your mental health.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Koshchi
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:19 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Nov 17, 2004
Posts: 15015
Location: Vancouver, BC

328P is not the same as 328-PU. The P in the first case indicates picopower. The P in the second case indicates the package (PDIP). If you wanted the picopower chip in a PDIP package, you should have gotten ATMEGA328P-PU.

_________________
Regards,
Steve A.

The Board helps those that help themselves.


Last edited by Koshchi on Oct 18, 2011 - 08:21 PM; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gregsmithcts
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:21 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 04, 2010
Posts: 2098
Location: Bristol, UK

I think you'll find the differences are just in the silicon and affect the power consumption. In terms for functionality and pin compatibility (and programming) there is no difference.

_________________
--greg
Still learning, don't shout at me, educate me.
Starting the fire is easy; the hardest part is learning how to keep the flame!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
uptime0
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:26 PM
Rookie


Joined: Oct 07, 2011
Posts: 35


Koshchi wrote:
328P is not the same as 328-PU. The P in the first case indicates picopower. The P in the second case indicates the package (PDIP). If you wanted the picopower chip in a PDIP package, you should have gotten ATMEGA328P-PU.

So the signature bytes will be different then?

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Koshchi
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:27 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Nov 17, 2004
Posts: 15015
Location: Vancouver, BC

Quote:
In terms for functionality and pin compatibility (and programming) there is no difference.
Not quite true. There are a couple of differences that could be important when using the picopower functionality. For one, the BOD disable is not available on the non-P part.
Quote:
So the signature bytes will be different then?
Yes, they are different chips.

_________________
Regards,
Steve A.

The Board helps those that help themselves.


Last edited by Koshchi on Oct 18, 2011 - 08:30 PM; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gregsmithcts
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:28 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 04, 2010
Posts: 2098
Location: Bristol, UK

Quote:
There are a couple of differences that could be important when using the picopower functionality.
Granted.
Very, very similar, though not identical, then Wink

_________________
--greg
Still learning, don't shout at me, educate me.
Starting the fire is easy; the hardest part is learning how to keep the flame!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
maximax
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:35 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Aug 09, 2009
Posts: 255
Location: UK

I got caught out by this at first, confusing the PU with picopower. IIRC the part of TFM (or datasheet) you need to refer to is Ordering Information. Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
uptime0
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 08:46 PM
Rookie


Joined: Oct 07, 2011
Posts: 35


Koshchi wrote:
Quote:
So the signature bytes will be different then?
Yes, they are different chips.


Bummer, doesn't look like avrdude supports 328. Guess I'll have to do some reading to add it to my config file.

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gregsmithcts
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 09:06 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 04, 2010
Posts: 2098
Location: Bristol, UK

Quote:
Guess I'll have to do some reading to add it to my config file.
It's trivial. Just copy the existing 328x entry, and paste it after that section, then replace the sig bytes. Done.

_________________
--greg
Still learning, don't shout at me, educate me.
Starting the fire is easy; the hardest part is learning how to keep the flame!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
uptime0
PostPosted: Oct 18, 2011 - 10:34 PM
Rookie


Joined: Oct 07, 2011
Posts: 35


Great, easy is good, avrdude sees them now.

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits