Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Nath
PostPosted: Jul 08, 2010 - 08:09 AM
Newbie


Joined: Jul 08, 2010
Posts: 1


I'm having the problem where the installer minimizes to taskbar and never makes any progress. Has anyone yet found a workaround? The UAC/network adaptor settings didn't seem to help.

**Update**
Found a suggestion to try in safemode. Installed perfectly fine on Windows 7 64-bit.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
SuziScar
PostPosted: Nov 03, 2010 - 01:20 AM
Newbie


Joined: Nov 01, 2010
Posts: 1
Location: GP, Oregon

I had same issue with avrstudio 4.18 installer minimizing to taskbar, no progress bar.

Unplugging Belkin USB dongle fixed the problem.

System Win XP SP3.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ch424
PostPosted: Nov 09, 2010 - 01:35 PM
Newbie


Joined: Nov 18, 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Oxford, UK

david.kiryazi wrote:
bowmo wrote:
Hmm.. just tried to install on a windows 7 64bit system. but it fails!
It takes me through the startup questions, but after choosing the install directory, the installer minimizes to the taskbar, and nothing else happens at all..

The chosen directory is never created. I have tried running it in XP mode, but no success in that either.

Anyone else tried to install on windows 7, 64bit?

/ Thomas


I had the same problems on my Win7 x64 machine. Basically I took the following steps and avr studio 4.18 installed without a problem. Unfortunately I don't know where the key is in these steps that actually solves the problem. But if you can replicate the steps, I am confident you might get somewhere Smile

1. Disable UAC
2. restart computer (you must do this)
3. disable network connection
4. close all programs (including antivirus)
5. Run avr studio 4.18 setup
6. You can install SP2 update at this point
7. Turn UAC back on
8. Reboot machine
(remember to re-enable network connection)

My gut feeling tells me UAC has something to do with it but since people are having the same problem on XP (which doesn't have UAC) tells me something else may be the cause.

HTH.

Dave


I was having the same installation problem, and Dave's method fixed it - thanks! I didn't bother stopping the antivirus software, but did the UAC and network stuff. I've got 4.18SP3 all installed fine now.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Mehran000
PostPosted: Aug 10, 2011 - 03:12 AM
Newbie


Joined: Aug 10, 2011
Posts: 1


none of the suggested methods worked for me!

Solution: At first install avr studio 4.15.623 and then update it to version 4.18 by running avr studio 4.18. it works
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jimloko
PostPosted: Aug 28, 2011 - 02:13 AM
Newbie


Joined: Aug 28, 2011
Posts: 10


Finally got around to installing v4 on windows 7 64bit. I've found that you have to actually log in as Aministrator and not just 'run as admin..'.

Chances are that the admin account is disabled. To enable the admin account just:

1. Right click on my computer and click 'Manage',
2. Go to 'Local Users and Groups'\Users then properties for Administrator,
3. Un-check 'account is disabled'.

Then you can 'Switch Users' and log in as Administrator. For a default install the admin account wont have a password. If it does you can go back and right click on Administrator and 'Set Password...'.

Install AVR Studio (and SPs) then logout. You can then go back into users and disable the Admin account.

Hope this helps.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ragnaroktomorrow
PostPosted: Sep 09, 2011 - 02:02 AM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 09, 2011
Posts: 1


Installed on Win7 Professional x64. It did the thing where it appeared to do nothing upon clicking the Install button.

After it sat there for 5-10 minutes I installed the avr-toolchain and was going to restart my computer. I began manually shutting down programs and after closing a few the AVRStudio4 window popped back up and started installing normally.

Hope this helps someone.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
KemKin
PostPosted: Sep 14, 2011 - 12:05 AM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 14, 2011
Posts: 1


Just have been trying to install the 4th version in Windows 7 x64.

A couple of unsuccessful attempts would actually get me to nothing, if I wouldn't Ctrl+Alt+Del and didn't delete a process from called rundll.

It was kind of strange for me that every time the installer window closes - the explorer window comes back to the front of me.

So start the installer while it hangs up, and then kill the process rundll32 (or something like that), the window will pop up and continue installation.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
MechAlucard
PostPosted: Oct 31, 2011 - 08:49 PM
Newbie


Joined: Apr 15, 2010
Posts: 4
Location: Klamath Falls Oregon

Installing in safe mode worked for me on Windows 7 64 bit
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
cog
PostPosted: Nov 11, 2011 - 08:08 PM
Newbie


Joined: Jan 07, 2003
Posts: 1


I confirm david.kiryazi's recipe, on win7-64 home premium, installing avr studio 4.19. Both the UAC tweak and the reboot are needed. Then installation completes in about two minutes, instead of the windowless taskbar icon.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
steve17
PostPosted: Dec 12, 2011 - 06:41 AM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Sep 07, 2004
Posts: 3155
Location: New York State

Something is strange here. Is everyone that has problems using Win7 Home Premium? I haven't tried installing Studio on Home Premium, only Professional. I've used Home Premium for other purposes though and haven't seen any differences between it and Professional.

You should never have to disable UAC or log on as "Administrator", or run in Safe Mode. It's possible there is something in Premium that conflicts with Studio, but I'd rather believe it's something else. Maybe your anti-virus is screwing things up.

One screwy thing that confused me with 4.19 or maybe 4.18 is you get another install shield window to install the half-assed Jungo driver. That window aligns itself exactly with the Studio install window. If you are unlucky, it gets behind the Studio window and you don't know it's there. So you never click NEXT, and things grind to a halt.

If you have trouble installing sommething, try right clicking on the setup program and click "Run as administrator". I don't have to do that though to install Studio unless I'm installing from a non-admin account, so I doubt if it will help here.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jeroen3
PostPosted: Apr 01, 2012 - 07:53 PM
Wannabe


Joined: Jan 22, 2011
Posts: 70
Location: Netherlands

The installer I've succesfully used since 2010 isn't working anymore either.
I suspect the SP1 of Windows 7 is the problem.

update:
Safe mode works on Win 7 SP1 x86 and x64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
mereldawu
PostPosted: Nov 20, 2013 - 08:08 AM
Rookie


Joined: Nov 19, 2013
Posts: 23


david.kiryazi wrote:
bowmo wrote:
Hmm.. just tried to install on a windows 7 64bit system. but it fails!
It takes me through the startup questions, but after choosing the install directory, the installer minimizes to the taskbar, and nothing else happens at all..

The chosen directory is never created. I have tried running it in XP mode, but no success in that either.

Anyone else tried to install on windows 7, 64bit?

/ Thomas


I had the same problems on my Win7 x64 machine. Basically I took the following steps and avr studio 4.18 installed without a problem. Unfortunately I don't know where the key is in these steps that actually solves the problem. But if you can replicate the steps, I am confident you might get somewhere Smile

1. Disable UAC
2. restart computer (you must do this)
3. disable network connection
4. close all programs (including antivirus)
5. Run avr studio 4.18 setup
6. You can install SP2 update at this point
7. Turn UAC back on
8. Reboot machine
(remember to re-enable network connection)

My gut feeling tells me UAC has something to do with it but since people are having the same problem on XP (which doesn't have UAC) tells me something else may be the cause.

HTH.

Dave


I'm on win7 64 bit professional.
Dave's method works for me too. Restart is essential.

Thanks a lot.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
adynis
PostPosted: Feb 18, 2014 - 10:58 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 4


Hi,
I had the same problem.... and for me worked by ... clicking "Sign out" (windows), then ... when saying that app bla bla is preventing windows to sign out, I clicked cancel, then again sign out, again cancel and : tadaaaaaamm : the GUI was there installing ...

I'm not sure if it was related or not, but i as trying for ~1h ...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tom62
PostPosted: Mar 12, 2014 - 01:08 AM
Rookie


Joined: Sep 15, 2006
Posts: 24


I am run window 7 64bit
studio 4.19 worked before, I uninstalled it and can not reinstall it back.

it minimize the installation window and stay there for ever, I try all the solutions about, still does not work.

Does anyone have new idea? thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tom62
PostPosted: Mar 12, 2014 - 05:59 AM
Rookie


Joined: Sep 15, 2006
Posts: 24


tom62 wrote:
I am run window 7 64bit
studio 4.19 worked before, I uninstalled it and can not reinstall it back.

it minimize the installation window and stay there for ever, I try all the solutions about, still does not work.

Does anyone have new idea? thanks



installed in safe mode, works perfectly Embarassed
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits