Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Shandor
PostPosted: Oct 12, 2010 - 02:27 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Mar 26, 2008
Posts: 233
Location: Latham, NY

hi,

I have a machine running at a customer site. Great. (it happens to use an ATMEGA128 which is why i'm posting this at avrfreaks)

It has an HMI interface that can be accessed from the internet. HOWEVER, the site has a dynamic IP. So I have a computer down there running the DYNDNS client software, and I use a domain from dyndns to be able to accessed the machine. The HMI does not provide any tools to update a dynamic IP.

However, if that computer running the client software goes down (or goes to sleep), then when the IP address changes, the domain doesnt get updated.

OK, that sucks, but what is worse is that in the future I dont want to put a computer down with every machine.

I am using the XNUT-100 from proconyx. It has an ethernet port. Does anyone know how I can update the new IP address straight from the controller so I dont require a computer?

Alternatively, is there a din rail mounted device that can acts as a host for the DYNDNS client software?

_________________
Unless otherwise stated:
uC: ATMega128 or 644P
Compiler: Imagecraft ICCAVR V7.2
Debugger: AVRstudio 4.16
Programmer: Atmel, JTAG MKII
Experience: 20 years of C
Dismal ASM skills
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jesper
PostPosted: Oct 12, 2010 - 04:46 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Mar 07, 2001
Posts: 2376
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Why not add a DynDNS updater to the firmware. The protocol is most likely open and documented.

_________________
/Jesper
http://www.yampp.com
The quick black AVR jumped over the lazy PIC.
What boots up, must come down.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Bingo600
PostPosted: Oct 12, 2010 - 05:23 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Apr 25, 2004
Posts: 3930
Location: Denmark

Seems like dyndns update is a "http request". This one
http://forum.dyndnscommunity.com/forum/ ... ded8#p4865

Suggests this
Code:

http://user:pw@members.dyndns.org/nic/update?hostname=host.domain.com


More hints
http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic ... mp;t=16176

And the XNUT-100 is using NUT/OS
http://www.proconx.com/xnut100/

Witch can do http requests.

I'd try the "updating" using a plain browser on a pc first , and when it works , i'd incorporate "the html request" in NUT/OS.

Note you wont need wget (as wget is just used as a "commandline" browser here).

/Bingo
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
w0067814
PostPosted: Oct 12, 2010 - 07:41 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Oct 09, 2001
Posts: 481
Location: Cambridge, UK

The syntax is posted here...

http://www.dyndns.com/developers/specs/syntax.html

-Tim
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Shandor
PostPosted: Oct 13, 2010 - 09:26 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Mar 26, 2008
Posts: 233
Location: Latham, NY

hmm, my previous post never made it.

I said "thanks!"

however I am have some more spoecuifics that make even these suggestions challenging. First I am using the controller but not the nut/OS. I have a few time critical things that needs done and I wasnt ready to entrust the overhead of an operating system with that.

Too badm because it looks like a lot of headache could be removed if I just used the nut/Os tools for modbus and now http.

since I dont have the nut/os kits, does anyone know the basics of setting up the ethernet port and creating the proper format and parsing for IP so I can use it for this?

Or am I looking at a whole course in IP to get my head around this?

_________________
Unless otherwise stated:
uC: ATMega128 or 644P
Compiler: Imagecraft ICCAVR V7.2
Debugger: AVRstudio 4.16
Programmer: Atmel, JTAG MKII
Experience: 20 years of C
Dismal ASM skills
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
w0067814
PostPosted: Oct 14, 2010 - 03:11 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Oct 09, 2001
Posts: 481
Location: Cambridge, UK

Have you heard of Adam Dunkel's uIP?

http://www.sics.se/~adam/uip/index.php/Main_Page

There are a number of ports to various AVRs and Ethernet controllers. The documentation is pretty good.

I beleive that there are already examples for HTTP. Certainly a server.

-Tim
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
frankvh
PostPosted: Oct 26, 2010 - 12:01 AM
Hangaround


Joined: Nov 03, 2001
Posts: 146
Location: Canada

As an alternative, how about a linksys WRT54GL running the Tomato firmware? It happily supports DDNS (I know this from happy experience). Cost is well under $100.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
stevech
PostPosted: Oct 26, 2010 - 02:44 AM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Dec 18, 2001
Posts: 5367


Huh?

Typically, a microprocessor with a LAN interface (like ethernet 802.3) interfaces to a LAN, not a WAN. The micro has a private LAN IP address. The router that faces the WAN would have a public IP address.

If the microprocessor sends mainly to one server, as is often the case with control apps, then the micro can send UDP or do a TCP connection to the server that it is configured to use. Then there's no need for dyndns.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jesper
PostPosted: Oct 29, 2010 - 09:05 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Mar 07, 2001
Posts: 2376
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

As long as the micro know there is an IP change, it can send the proper request for a DynDNS change, even if it's on the LAN.
Anyway, the micro itself could be connnected directly WAN, usually it looks just like any other network segment with a DHCP server.

_________________
/Jesper
http://www.yampp.com
The quick black AVR jumped over the lazy PIC.
What boots up, must come down.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits