Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Samuraj_
PostPosted: Apr 23, 2006 - 10:22 PM
Newbie


Joined: Oct 26, 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Sweden

Thanks for all good information about the dongle.

Plons wrote:
although some Forum-members claim that it is not supported in AVR-Studio-4 (the beautiful programming-environment from Atmel): sorry guys, that is not true! Kanda supplies a plug-in for AVR-Studio with the STK200 and it works fine! And comfortable.

Where can I get this plug in, I can't find it. :-/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Broxbourne
PostPosted: Apr 23, 2006 - 10:29 PM
Hangaround


Joined: Nov 16, 2005
Posts: 341
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

I have been using Kanda'a ISP and their JTAG ICE quite successfully. (I did Wreck an LCD though trying to use it in memory mapped mode with the ICE attached. Confound these shared pins!!)
http://www.kanda.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pop48m
PostPosted: Apr 24, 2006 - 09:35 AM
Wannabe


Joined: Nov 17, 2005
Posts: 95


Plons wrote:

Note: although some Forum-members claim that it is not supported in AVR-Studio-4 (the beautiful programming-environment from Atmel): sorry guys, that is not true! Kanda supplies a plug-in for AVR-Studio with the STK200 and it works fine! And comfortable.
Plons

Unfortunately, it is available only to the registered users, not for the users of homemade devices.
Is there an open source version of this useful plug-in?

Thanks, Pop
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aljoal
PostPosted: May 10, 2006 - 12:24 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2006
Posts: 2


Tanks all, but i'm a little confused.
i need to program the at89s4051 the "Even Better PPPD.jpg" can program it ?! with the at89isp software from atmel?

Thanks very much.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
theusch
PostPosted: May 10, 2006 - 07:22 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Feb 19, 2001
Posts: 28171
Location: Wisconsin USA

Quote:

Tanks all, but i'm a little confused.


I am a little confused, as well. This is an Atmel AVR site. The AT89 is not an AVR part, rather it has an 8051 core. So while you might get someone here that knows the answer, you probably will get a better audience for your question at sites like www.8052.com

Lee
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aljoal
PostPosted: May 10, 2006 - 09:09 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 10, 2006
Posts: 2


Thanks very much Lee.
I apologize !!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
squanto773
PostPosted: May 25, 2006 - 06:53 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 25, 2006
Posts: 1


Quote:
Note: although some Forum-members claim that it is not supported in AVR-Studio-4 (the beautiful programming-environment from Atmel): sorry guys, that is not true! Kanda supplies a plug-in for AVR-Studio with the STK200 and it works fine! And comfortable.


Do you have a link, for that plugin? I used google but couldn't find anything.
Thanks!

This

I'm sorry, just had a look abov and found the anwer...that it's only for registered user...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ghost2
PostPosted: Feb 24, 2007 - 06:13 AM
Newbie


Joined: Feb 23, 2007
Posts: 1


I'm afraid 2.4V is not enough to drive as 74HC244 VIH...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sarvoavr
PostPosted: Feb 26, 2007 - 03:54 PM
Newbie


Joined: Feb 26, 2007
Posts: 4


i built a dongle using 74ls245. i was able to write a small led blinking program on the ATmega16L using pony prog, and it worked fine. now i'm trying to write a program for a line follower but pony prog is giving a "device not recognised" error. i'm using a 4Mhz crystal, but it seems the mc still runs on 1 MHz.
i checked the voltage levels of the 74ls245 and the pin connected to MOSI is giving 3.5V when supply is switched on.
plz reply soon.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
marcelex_b
PostPosted: Apr 11, 2007 - 08:02 AM
Newbie


Joined: Aug 31, 2006
Posts: 1


hey, atmega16 works with this programmer ? what should i use ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
predragp
PostPosted: May 27, 2007 - 07:43 PM
Newbie


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 1


Does anyone has PCB of Improved PPPD?

Peki
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: May 27, 2007 - 08:36 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6597
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

Check the Tutorial Section of this forum here:
http://www.avrfreaks.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=36591

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
roussey
PostPosted: Dec 24, 2007 - 03:05 PM
Wannabe


Joined: Dec 22, 2007
Posts: 73
Location: Vitória, Brazil

stk500 is compatible with stk200/300?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: Dec 24, 2007 - 03:38 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6597
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

Nope. STK500 is superiour to the STK200 (and maybe the 300 as well)

If you have a STK500, you don't need a PPPD as the STK500 has all of what you need on board.

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Backer
PostPosted: Jun 20, 2008 - 08:54 PM
Newbie


Joined: Oct 08, 2006
Posts: 2


Nice schematic, but although everything worked fine... On a certain point I noticed that the system works without VDD or 5 Volt, because I forgot to turn on the power (clumsy me, I know Smile). So can anyone explain why this also works without power. Does it have something to do with that 74HC244?
Backer
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: Jun 20, 2008 - 10:13 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6597
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

To all: this is an old thread, and you can find the latest info here: http://www.avrfreaks.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=36591&highlight=stk200+300programming+dongles or hit the link in my signature.

Backer, to answer your question: the diodes inside the HC244 are responsible for that behaviour. Nothing to be worried about, .... it's a bonus Laughing

Nard

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
yanctl
PostPosted: Jul 12, 2008 - 07:50 AM
Newbie


Joined: Jul 12, 2008
Posts: 4


Hello Plons,
I've built the PPPPD, rev 1.2, dated March 18 2008.
Together with AVR Studio 4.14 and the Kanda's plugin,
I was able to flash a simple blink program into an
ATTiny2313.
After a few flashing sessions, the avrisp reported that
"your target device is not responding, check power & connections" and then failed to do anything.
My experience with AVR is about a week, previously, I was into PIC uC.

1)+5V has been checked.
2)External clk inadvertently selected previously?....unlikely, since
previous program still runs.
3)Tried both internal 4.0 & 8.0 mhz before selecting reset button on the avrisp screen....no joy.
4)Removed leds in parallel with MISO, MOSI & SCK to eliminate loading effect.....no joy.

Things I'm unsure:
a)I could have switched the MISO & MOSI lines from the breadboard during one of the flashing sessions
...would it fry the uC or the HC244?
b)Is there an option to test the hardware, like in the WinPic for PIC uC?...my logic probe
confirms pulsing in the MISO, MOSI & sck lines.

I would appreciate any pointers.
Thanks
yanctl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: Jul 12, 2008 - 02:23 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6597
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

Most likely you either
- disabled ISP-programming
- use the reset-line as IO-pin
- or don't erase the chip before re-programming.

These settings are determined by fuse-settings. I recommend that you study those first.

You will need HighVoltage programming to restore the fuses.

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
asegade
PostPosted: Sep 25, 2008 - 04:21 PM
Newbie


Joined: Aug 29, 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Montevideo - Uruguay

Hi.

I have made a PCB for the PPPD (last design)dongle with the KICAD GNU software. You can find it in http://www.freewebs.com/asegade/electron.html

Bye: Alejandro Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Plons
PostPosted: Sep 25, 2008 - 04:52 PM
Raving lunatic


Joined: Nov 01, 2005
Posts: 6597
Location: Hilversum - the Netherlands

Well done and thanks for sharing it !

Nard

_________________
Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits