When should I protect the circuit components?

Go To Last Post
20 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi,

I'm looking for a general rule of thumb how to protect the circuit when it's not specified.

- First case, when should I use a fuse/regulating resistors?
For example I know I should put a resistor before a led for regulating the current that it won't pull too much and burn itself.
Do I need it for ICs (AVR mC, 74XX..)?
HD44780 LCD (on the VCC should I put a 100 oHm resistor)?

How much resistance should I put?

- Second case noise. When should I use a decoupling capacitors?
How and what capacity?

Thanks..

Without the journey the reward in the end is half as sweet..
I am a newbie.
Call me Zohar.

Zohar - Two big questions.

Circuit protection first. The common practice is to protect those things that lead off-board or have external, possibly uncontrolled, voltages. For example, excessive input to ADC. Example: external supply voltage for system regulator. Sometimes RS232 I/O. There are three scenarios that people normally worry about: (1) reversed voltages (-12V on a power supply input that SHOULD be +12V), (2) excessive voltages (12V on an ADC input that should be no higher than 5V), and transients (especially electrostatic discharge - ESD) on connections that a user might accidently zap. All of this said, these things are not very often done by hobby builders, though their device reliability might be better if they did.

Current limiting resistors for LEDs CAN be sized so they do not burn out. Determine the current you want through the LED. Look up on the spec sheet to find the LED voltage drop at that current. Find the voltage drop by subtracting the LED voltage from the supply voltage. Voltage drop times current is power. Make sure the power rating for the resistor is large enough to handle at least this much power.