What are 0 ohm resistors for?

45 posts / 0 new
Last post
Author
Total votes: 0

Ok, so I know I am new at the hardware side of things but this one makes NO sense to me.

A buddy of mine at work insisted that they make 0 ohm resistors. I said "Of course they do. It is called wire and in comes in many sizes and colors." Then he pulls out the digikey catalog and shows me! He didn't know why and I can see why someone would spend almost a dollar on a 50mm length of wire when you can buy a 30m spool of 22 gauge for $15.

http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T073/P1678.pdf

There has to be a reason someone would go the the expense of manufacturing these things. What am I missing?

I don't mind loosing beer bets (as I did on this) but there is NO WAY an entire industry is conspiring against me.

You can have my mac when you pry my cold dead fingers off of it.

Kevin McEnhill -- mcenhillk@gmail.com

Since 0 Ohm resistors look the same as its resistive brothers, it can be treated the same way in f.i. automatic insertion machines for PCB-manufacturing.

In SMT they are commonly used to let tracks on one side of the PCB cross: the second track goes between the 2 pads of the smd-resistor of 0 Ohm

Third reason is to use them as configuration resistors. (Have a look at the schematic of the Butterfly: you'll find several of these 0 Ohm resistors)

So yes, you'll have to buy him a beer. Cheers !

Nard

Dragon broken ? Or problems with the Parallel Port Programmer ? Scroll down on my projects-page http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/TechStuff.html for tips

This reminds me on a tube I once saw in a tube-museum.
They had lots of diodes,triodes, tetrodes,pentodes and
so on, but the exhibition also showed a Nullode, a
tube with NULL (=zero) electrodes. I think I was
disturbed the same way you have been about 0-Ohm
resistors.

But there is an explanation. As often, Google knows
the answer also !