Simple USART communication error, ATMega168-20PU

Go To Last Post
7 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello, I'm very new to AVR Programming in general and am trying to configure my ATMega168 for USART serial communication. I am programming the chip using a USBTinyISP and attempting to communicate through an FTDI cable. Here is my code below:

serialLoopback.c

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <util/delay.h>
#include "pinDefines.h"
#include "USART.h"
int main(void) {
  char serialCharacter;
  // -------- Inits --------- //
  LED_DDR = 0xff;                            /* set up LEDs for output */
  initUSART();
  printString("Hello World!!!!\r\n");                          /* to test */
  // ------ Event loop ------ //
  while (1) {
    serialCharacter = receiveByte();
    transmitByte(serialCharacter);
    LED_PORT = serialCharacter;
                           /* display ascii/numeric value of character */
  }                                                  /* End event loop */
  return 0;
}

Makefile 

The original Makefile can be found here: https://github.com/hexagon5un/AVR-Programming/blob/master/Chapter05_Serial-IO/serialLoopback/Makefile

The only things that I have edited are the following:

MCU   = atmega168
F_CPU =  1.0E6
BAUD  = 9600

When I open a terminal (in my case, CoolTerm), I connect to the FTDI port, set the baudrate to 9600, data bits = 8, parity = none, stop bits = 1. When I type a character into the terminal, I should get that character returned back to me. Instead, I get the following when I type a character:

Ä

(0x80 in hex.)

When I reset the chip, I get the following:

..ÄÄÄ.Ä.ÄÄ.ÄÄÄÄÄ..ÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ..Ä.ÄÄ..ÄÄ..Ä..Ä..Ä..ÄÄ..Ä.