SIM800L GPRS module freezing Arduino

Go To Last Post
9 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hello,

I'm new to AVR Freaks forums and I'm sorry that my first post isn't something more constructive than a question.

Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.

I have two Arduino Mega boards sending weather information to my server. I noticed that in the low GPRS signal areas (60% and less) my Arduino will freeze when the SIM800L GPRS module turns on to send data (it turns on via n-channel mosfet).

I have solved this problem by making an external watchdog circuit so it restarts the whole thing if this happens but I don't see this as a solution. The one with 95% signal restarts once every 24 hours as it should, but the one with 45% signal restarts about 4-5 times a day.

So I was wondering if anyone else encountered this problem and if I could get some hints on solving this issue.

Thank you and best regards!

Last Edited: Thu. May 18, 2017 - 07:11 PM
Total votes: 1

Zell89 wrote:
my Arduino will freeze when the SIM800L GPRS module turns on to send data

Sounds like a power supply issue, please tells us more about how your project is powered, Pictures would help as well.

Jim

Found this in the H/W manual for the 800L

Does your power supply design provide the needed power?

Jim

I'm sorry but i forgot to take pictures :(

It's powered by a 2.4A cell phone charger since the SIM800L can peak at 2A for a few uS. There is a 6800 uF low ESR capacitor across Vin and GND of the SIM800 module.

I also think that this is a power problem. If I understand correctly: if the signal is weaker the device will draw significantly more current? Could this high current draw of the GPRS module freeze the Arduino board? Since the GPRS module remains on but Arduino freezes and doesn't turn it off.

Last Edited: Thu. May 18, 2017 - 07:28 PM

I would think that would do the trick, but a picture would be helpful.  What Arduino board are you using?  Uno? Pro-mini?  Self-made?