save/restore interrupt status

Last post
34 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

I am porting a multi-tasking kernel (in C++, WinAVR compiler) to the ATmega2560, and I need to save and then later restore the interrupt status in SREG.

I'm new to both GCC and the AVR instruction set, and I don't see any equivalent instructions to push/pop the SREG to the stack. So it looks like I need to do this manually in this architecture. Or perhaps there is a better way to do this than to use the stack, maybe a shadow register or something?

Would a GCC-guru be so kind as to share their C-macros or assembly sequences to save and restore interrupts please?

-Ray

In C, this is simply:

uint8_t sreg_save = SREG;
  cli();
  SREG = sreg_save;

Jörg Wunsch

Please don't send me PMs, use email if you want to approach me personally.
Please read the `General information...' article before.

Excellent!

I see now that SREG is configured as a port in the AVR architecture, and GCC supports port access in C. I'll make the macros to handle this soon.

Thanks!
- Ray

I made these from a post I found a while back on AVRFreaks - I forget who posted it in the first place. I modified it to allow for both ASSUME_ON (implicit sei() at block exit) and RESTORE_STATE (restore to previous state on block exit):

// Other General Macros:
	#define ATOMIC_BLOCK(exitmode)   { exitmode cli();
	#define END_ATOMIC_BLOCK         }

#define ATOMIC_RESTORESTATE      inline void __irestore(const uint8_t *s) { SREG = *s; }         \
	                                 const uint8_t __isave __attribute__((__cleanup__(__irestore))) = SREG;
	#define ATOMIC_ASSUMEON          inline void __irestore(const uint8_t *s) { sei(); (void)s; }     \
	                                 const uint8_t __isave __attribute__((__cleanup__(__irestore))) = 0;

Use like the following:

ATOMIC_BLOCK(ATOMIC_RESTORESTATE)
	{
	    // Code here
	}	
	END_ATOMIC_BLOCK