SAMD21 + WINC1500 for MQTTS

Go To Last Post
25 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi community!

The documentation clearly says that the current highest version of TLS supported by that platform is 1.0, let's say that the ideal solution is aimed at 1.2 (because of Amazon's specifications).

• Will the TLS be upgraded any time soon?

I'm importing the mbedTLS which supports TLSv1.2, hope that after finishing the proper imports and connecting scripts it works, if not, well, keep up with the solution reaching.

• Will the implementation of mbedTLS make a fatal crash because of version differences?
  • Is this at a more low level than thought? (I'm a high level paradigm developer).

And finally...

• Is this board capable of handle client certificates and private keys programatically inside of the proyect? (I know there's a bat file for embed the firmware onto WINC1500, but that's only for root certs, I need to provide client certificate - key in order to have both sides authenticated).

Thanks a lot for your time!

Yours sincerely, Jon. 

Last Edited: Wed. Jun 1, 2016 - 08:57 AM

Hello all,

Please, I need to know if the WINC1500 is capable of handle client certificates and private keys? if so, how could program my client certificate to the WINC1500 module ?

Actually I need to provide client certificate to ensure a higher security level on the server side.

Many thanks in advance.

Hi Ayman!

There is an issue with the google forums, I pested to replies, both eliminated when hit the post button. 

Ok, first, memory highlights. Consider you final implementation memory (RAM) usage. That's because the solution for the MQTT secured communication leaves the SAMD21 very tight in memory. SAM4S can overcome this issue.

Second, main topic. No by its own. You will need to implement a combo like (SAMD21 || SAM4S) + WINC1500 + CryptoAuth Module, in order to support the mutual auth flow. Porting TLS library is also needed, Atmel recommended wolfSSL.