Converting code to be Arduino (ATMEGA328 IC) compatible

Go To Last Post
35 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 0

Hi,

I need to convert this code to be compatible for the arduino however I am very new to the Arduino and am not sure how to start. I read up on some forums and online sites that the arduino doesnt require a "main". Secondly i was having problem with my interrupts, using sei(); instead of #asm("sei") didnt really help me.

Please tell me how and where i should start. I would really be grateful!!!

Thanks
Confy

Attachment(s): 

Your code is written for the Codevision compiler.

And I have never heard of a system file called

As far as I know, the Arduino is just some hardware with a bootloader and serial link.

So any program written in any language for a mega168 target should run ok. You just compile it in the regular way. Any i/o must match the Arduino port pins.

However if you want to conform to the Arduino 'way of doing things', you should use the Arduino syntax and conventions.

You need to reveal the contents of "WProgram.h"
The first step would be to use regular C that can be compiled by avr-gcc.

Then with a few well chosen macros, you can 'Arduino-ise' it.

David.

Quote:

Any i/o must match the Arduino port pins.

So knowing the pinout of the 168/328 board will probably help:

http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/Atm...

Hi David,

Thank you for your reply. I am using the Atmega328. I tried compiling this but there were a plethora of errors.

This was initially coded for the ATmel Mega 32 chip in which the Mega32.h library was added. I replaced that with WProgram.h in order to try to avoid some of the errors i found since WProgram.h is the main header for the wiring library. ( I was sort of clutching at a straw)